Jump to content



Photo

Remove server from domain or just switch it off


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 26 May 2014 - 20:59

Hi,

 

I will be retiring a server soon that no longer does anything. Is it best practice to just switch it off or should it be removed from the domain first?




#2 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 26 May 2014 - 21:01

Remove it. This will reduce the number of objects in your AD



#3 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 27 May 2014 - 12:14

you can remove it or delete it from the aduc if it is just a server.  if it is a dc you are better off to dcpromo it off the network prior to shutting it down.



#4 Garry

Garry

    CCNP & CISSP

  • Joined: 09-November 01
  • Location: Manchester, UK

Posted 27 May 2014 - 12:36

Quick tip: Always make sure you know (or reset) the local admin password before you remove the machine from the domain. It can be a pain trying to do it afterwards. A mistake I've made a few times particularly with old servers.



#5 OP RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 03 July 2014 - 21:10

If I forget to remove from domain, is all I have to do is delete the computer object or are there any other things to do or delete?

#6 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 03 July 2014 - 21:18

If I forget to remove from domain, is all I have to do is delete the computer object or are there any other things to do or delete?

Depends , Is it a domain server?



#7 OP RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 03 July 2014 - 21:26

Just a normal server (not a DC)

#8 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 July 2014 - 21:26

Depends on its role but generally it can just be deleted.  You can login to the server and move it into a workgroup.  This in itself will disable the computer object in AD.



#9 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 July 2014 - 09:44

As mentioned, if it's just a normal server attached to the DC but doesn't have any roles then it can be deleted or removed. Eitherway will work just fine but definitely make sure it's no longer listed in the domain if it's not being used.