Jump to content



Photo

Visual Studio 13 to be skipped? vNext to be v14


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 elenarie

elenarie

    Newbie .NET / game dev

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 23-March 14
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 920 Yellow

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:53

Based on their Office versioning, and the link below, it seems like they will skip version 13 and just jump to 14. Looks like folks already have builds of Visual Studio vNext.

 

http://wixtoolset.org/issues/4428/




#2 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 29 May 2014 - 17:03

Eh they did the same with Office, lots of people are a little weird about 13. Even find buildings without a 13th floor for example.

#3 bithush

bithush

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-April 14

Posted 29 May 2014 - 17:36

Does not surprise me, many companies skip version 13 numbering just like many buildings skip floor 13.



#4 Syanide

Syanide

    From here to infirmary.

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: /home

Posted 29 May 2014 - 17:49

Are people really that superstitious?



#5 Studio384

Studio384

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update Pro
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8.1 Update

Posted 30 May 2014 - 13:41

Are people really that superstitious?

Most aren't, however, some people like to bash thing that have something 13, a risk a company like Microsoft can't take.



#6 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 24 July 2014 - 08:05

This is twelve orders of magnitude beyond ridiculous at this day and age.



#7 Studio384

Studio384

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update Pro
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8.1 Update

Posted 24 July 2014 - 08:59

This is twelve orders of magnitude beyond ridiculous at this day and age.

It indeed is, through it's still something that must be done for some people. Brussels Airlines used to have a logo with dots chaped in a "B", it where 13 dots, and because of that, customers refused to go with Brussels Airlines until it was changed.



#8 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:24

Based on their Office versioning, and the link below, it seems like they will skip version 13 and just jump to 14.

I just noticed the skip! Seriously, IT'S JUST A NUMBER! It being unlucky would be the last thing on my mind.



#9 sinetheo

sinetheo

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-January 14

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:25

Eh they did the same with Office, lots of people are a little weird about 13. Even find buildings without a 13th floor for example.

I think it is because MS is hellbent on killing support for Windows 7 as a 13 beta would mean still in win 7 support. Both Office and vs will be modernized for tablets and touch



#10 +Vykranth

Vykranth

    Chantez, compagnons, dans la nuit la Liberté nous écoute

  • Joined: 02-September 04
  • Location: Nancy, France
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:31

Visual Studio version 2013 is version 12.0. The .Net Framework is a 4.5.x, the C++ compiler cl.exe is 18.00.

 

You could play lottery with the various versions numbers.

 

Ultimately, yes, they are people with superstitions, so you can get jump from 12.0 to 14.0 or version X3 ...

 

Visual Studio 14 lost the 2000 prefix and there are already two CTPs available http://blogs.msdn.com/visualstudio/



#11 Studio384

Studio384

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update Pro
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8.1 Update

Posted 24 July 2014 - 10:03

Visual Studio version 2013 is version 12.0. The .Net Framework is a 4.5.x, the C++ compiler cl.exe is 18.00.

 

You could play lottery with the various versions numbers.

 

Ultimately, yes, they are people with superstitions, so you can get jump from 12.0 to 14.0 or version X3 ...

 

Visual Studio 14 lost the 2000 prefix and there are already two CTPs available http://blogs.msdn.com/visualstudio/

It didn't lost the "2000 prefix", it just isn't named yet, just like Microsoft called Windows 8 originaly Windows "8". The 14 is just a codename, they aren't sure if it is going to be Visual Studio 2014 or Visual Studio 2015. That's probably the reason.



#12 bdsams

bdsams

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted 25 July 2014 - 19:08

I bet they go with the year that it is released in..makes it easier for marketing. 



#13 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 25 July 2014 - 19:15

Quick Skip version 13, but who cares if it's product name has 2013 in it! We should of skipped 2013 because its bad luck!!!!!!!!!!

 

seriously though, in some cultures 13 is a good number......



#14 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 25 July 2014 - 20:02

I propose Neowin skips 13th post of every thread in accord to Microsoft.

 

 

Oh damn... and this one's it.



#15 +Quillz

Quillz

    A Talking Pokemon

  • Joined: 19-July 05
  • Location: LA, CA
  • OS: Win8
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 26 July 2014 - 17:17

Most aren't, however, some people like to bash thing that have something 13, a risk a company like Microsoft can't take.

And those are the people that probably shouldn't be using computers.