Jump to content



Photo

HexChat 2.10.0 released

irc

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,488 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 01 June 2014 - 19:08

HexChat 2.10.0 released

 

So 2.10.0 is finally released after being in the works for 8 months, the longest gap between a release since the rebranding. The first change you’ll notice is the version bump to 2.10.x; HexChat has been a horrible abuser of the micro version number introducing many breaking changes between releases so hopefully we can stop that.

 

Not many new features were added in this release but internally and externally a lot has been cleaned up as well as numerous bug fixes (but not the infamous reconnect crash on Windows). See the links for the full list but here are some highlights of the more visible changes.

 

Links: 

Source and full announcement: HexChat website




#2 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 16,091 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1u1

Posted 01 June 2014 - 19:12

downloaded and installed, thanks for the heads up.



#3 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,649 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 01 June 2014 - 19:38

Name change from what? It's written as if we're supposed to know what this "new" program is...

#4 OP +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,488 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 01 June 2014 - 19:39

Name change from what? It's written as if we're supposed to know what this "new" program is...

From XChat-WDK - a fork of XChat.



#5 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,649 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 01 June 2014 - 19:42

They don't even have any real screenshots available. But from what little is there it doesn't seem to suppose any form of sub windows or multiple visible channels at once. So... Useless...

#6 OP +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,488 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 01 June 2014 - 19:43

They don't even have any real screenshots available. But from what little is there it doesn't seem to suppose any form of sub windows or multiple visible channels at once. So... Useless...

There is one screenshot on the site:

 

screenshot-windows.png



#7 OP +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 23,488 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 01 June 2014 - 20:20

In case some of you aren't aware of it: Neowin has its own IRC server. I wrote a guide how to connect to Neowin IRC back in Oct 2013: http://www.neowin.ne...-to-neowin-irc/

 

Come join us. Most of the IRC regulars don't bite, I promise. :shifty:



#8 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,678 posts
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 01 June 2014 - 20:21

They don't even have any real screenshots available. But from what little is there it doesn't seem to suppose any form of sub windows or multiple visible channels at once. So... Useless...

Screenshot of mine, tabs are on the bottom, you can go for a treeview too plus you can detach each channel into its own window if you prefer.  Scaled down a good bit, you get the idea.

 

hexchat.png



#9 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,649 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 01 June 2014 - 20:36

Screenshot of mine, tabs are on the bottom, you can go for a treeview too plus you can detach each channel into its own window if you prefer.  Scaled down a good bit, you get the idea.
 
hexchat.png


I know, I've used xchat before, or rather I tried it and realized it's not fit for purpose.

I'll just keep using my old mIRC license this doesn't look any better or work any better, and it doesn't support mer windows. With mIRC I set it up co connect to my usual server and join my usual channels the channels are then automatically arranged in the size and position I've saved so I have up to 6 channels visible at the same time.

#10 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,678 posts
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 01 June 2014 - 20:41

I'll just keep using my old mIRC license this doesn't look any better or work any better, and it doesn't support mer windows. With mIRC I set it up co connect to my usual server and join my usual channels the channels are then automatically arranged in the size and position I've saved so I have up to 6 channels visible at the same time.

Ohhh MDI windows, I get you.  You can probably script something with detached windows, but yea it's kind of a bother when you get that out of the box with mIRC with no fuss.  I go for the multi-monitor setup myself, but *shrug* understandable choice there.



#11 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,649 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 01 June 2014 - 23:05

I use multi monitor as well. but I use my other monitor, and my third(laptop) for more than use irc, which means I have to minimize other windows not just click the irc windows, and I can never minimize the irc window. and when I restart I have to re-arrange everything again. 



#12 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 16,091 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1u1

Posted 02 June 2014 - 02:00

Screenshot of mine, tabs are on the bottom, you can go for a treeview too plus you can detach each channel into its own window if you prefer.  Scaled down a good bit, you get the idea.

 

hexchat.png

 

is there any way for you to export your view settings for me to use? I cant hardly even figure out how to change the background colour



#13 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,678 posts
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 02 June 2014 - 02:23



is there any way for you to export your view settings for me to use? I cant hardly even figure out how to change the background colour

It's a GTK 2 theme.. had to do something with it as GTK 2 just looks horribly out of place using non-native controls.  Just drop the gtkrc file into the ./etc/gtk-2.0 directory off of where it's installed, backing up the original first if you want.  I don't think I fiddled with the other color settings much, if at all, been using this for a while and don't recall what I did with it.

http://amadme.devian...t/T3K-103862094