Jump to content



Photo

Updated to Yosemite

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 03 June 2014 - 20:29

So I updated to Yosemite this morning, I didn't have a password set on my iMac, it was just blank so all I would have to do was hit enter and I could access my iMac.

Well, that function is gone right now, and my computer is locked out. Any way I bypass it?

Best Answer Dinggus , 04 June 2014 - 01:02

http://support.apple.com/kb/ph6317

 

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1274

 

You may need to use the Recovery partition since Yosemite isn't on disc and OS X will probably complain the SL disc is older than Yosemite.

 

Thanks, I couldn't find my disc, so I just googled and this worked.

 

You need to enter terminal and create a new admin account:
  • Reboot
  • Hold apple + s down after you hear the chime.
  • When you get the text prompt enter in these terminal commands to create a brand new admin account (hitting return after each line):
  • mount -uw /
  • rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone
  • shutdown -h now
  • After rebooting you should have a brand new admin account. When you login as the new admin you can simply delete the old one and you're good to go again!

After I rebooted, it went straight into finishing setting up, then I just logged out and clicked on my old username and it logged me right in.

 

Source: http://en.kioskea.ne...hout-an-os-x-cd

Go to the full post



#2 Andrew G.

Andrew G.

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 03 June 2014 - 20:34

You must have enabled automatic login. Are you sure you can't use the admin/user password? (the one you type while installing software).

 

Failing that, boot with an OS X install disc (hold C during boot), or recovery partition (hold option), or the install image for ML/Mavericks and use Password Reset in the Utilities folder on the menubar.



#3 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 03 June 2014 - 20:41

If I did type a password in during installation, it doesn't work anymore.

Does Snow Leopard have this Password Reset?

#4 Andrew G.

Andrew G.

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 03 June 2014 - 20:42

If I did type a password in during installation, it doesn't work anymore.

Does Snow Leopard have this Password Reset?

 

http://support.apple.com/kb/ph6317

 

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1274

 

You may need to use the Recovery partition since Yosemite isn't on disc and OS X will probably complain the SL disc is older than Yosemite.



#5 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 04 June 2014 - 00:49

Awesome, so I can't find my disc right now, guess I'll have to download it.....



#6 OP Dinggus

Dinggus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 05

Posted 04 June 2014 - 01:02   Best Answer

http://support.apple.com/kb/ph6317

 

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1274

 

You may need to use the Recovery partition since Yosemite isn't on disc and OS X will probably complain the SL disc is older than Yosemite.

 

Thanks, I couldn't find my disc, so I just googled and this worked.

 

You need to enter terminal and create a new admin account:
  • Reboot
  • Hold apple + s down after you hear the chime.
  • When you get the text prompt enter in these terminal commands to create a brand new admin account (hitting return after each line):
  • mount -uw /
  • rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone
  • shutdown -h now
  • After rebooting you should have a brand new admin account. When you login as the new admin you can simply delete the old one and you're good to go again!

After I rebooted, it went straight into finishing setting up, then I just logged out and clicked on my old username and it logged me right in.

 

Source: http://en.kioskea.ne...hout-an-os-x-cd



#7 vhane

vhane

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-August 04

Posted 04 June 2014 - 06:31

Did you select to use your Apple login? Try your Apple/iCloud password.