Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 04 June 2014 - 10:35

Hey guys,

Am in a bit of a bind, and have spent the last 3 days searching the interwebs for this. Found very little in the way of a solution tho!

 

I am trying to enable the proxy connection setting for outlook profiles to connect using HTTP first over fast network. I have set the GPO's, but they arent applying to our appsense dektops, so looking for registry keys!!

 

Has anyone got a solution, or could show me the light??

 

This is what i am after:

ExchangeProxySettingsConnect.png




#2 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 04 June 2014 - 11:08

Can you troubleshoot the gpo and see what the cause is?

Here are the registry keys needed, it isn't a simple 0 or 1.
http://twoitgeeks.bl...-proxy.html?m=1

#3 OP Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 04 June 2014 - 11:47

Can you troubleshoot the gpo and see what the cause is?

Here are the registry keys needed, it isn't a simple 0 or 1.
http://twoitgeeks.bl...-proxy.html?m=1

 

Wicked... thanks for this! Will have a go and report back!

 

I may need to reboot the desktop to check the GPO, not able to at the moment due to 18 people currently using it in citrix...



#4 OP Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 04 June 2014 - 13:19

Update : That didnt work... creates the registry key correctly when its set at application startup in appsense, but it does not create the value under the main key. back to the drawing board



#5 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 04 June 2014 - 14:08

Need to trouble shoot the issue, event viewer is a good place to start. Also if you have access to run, rsop.msc and if you have access to command prompt, gpresult/r

#6 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 04 June 2014 - 14:33

Also with gpos, the user portion can only be applied to user objects, and the computer portion can only be applied to computers.  If you are trying to apply the gpo to a specific group of computers and they are user settings, it isn't going to work. 

 

1.jpg

 

 

and

 

 

2.jpg

 

 

You cannot have the computer configuration apply to users and you cannot have the user configuration apply to computers when using active directory users or groups when defining who or what gets the policy applied.  If you have the default "Authenticated Users" this applies to all computer and user objects in active directory as the computers are part of the authenticated users group.



#7 OP Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 04 June 2014 - 15:10

Yup, know the difference between a computer and user gpo :)

 

event viewer hasnt given me much to interrogate TBH... nothing rearing its head up!

gpresult /user XXX /v /r shows the correct gpo's being applied...

rsop however....... i got a citrix profile management has failed : Citrix Profile Management failed due to the error listed below.

The system cannot find the path specified

 

This could be an issue!

 

noticed however looking at our CAS servers, our USA colleagues have implimented an exch2013 environment, before us, and noticed they changes the CAS from NTLM to Basic, with ssl for outlook anywhere..

changed ours over, and made the amendments to the GPO's to test... 



#8 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 04 June 2014 - 15:20

this may help more too

http://exchadtech.bl...o-logs-are.html