Jump to content



Photo

Malware or corrupt OS


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 04 June 2014 - 11:50

So, software was removed from a laptop yesterday.  Upon reboot, the attached screenshot is shown.  The next screen after, is just a black screen with a mouse cursor.  PC is unusable.

Attached Images

  • CAM00123.jpg



#2 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 04 June 2014 - 11:56

It would help to know what the software was. Your question is very open ended....

 

Clearly, your computer is corrupted, either through malware or the removal of a vital piece of software.



#3 carmatic

carmatic

    oh cool i can change my member title

  • Joined: 03-July 04

Posted 04 June 2014 - 11:58

could it be some kind of ransomware written in some foreign language that the computer is not displaying correctly?



#4 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 04 June 2014 - 12:03

It would help to know what the software was. Your question is very open ended....

 

Clearly, your computer is corrupted, either through malware or the removal of a vital piece of software.

 

Sorry, still waking up.  The software was SolidWorks 2012.  We did a bunch of upgrades yesterday.  And by corruption, I meant something outside of what malware would do.

 

could it be some kind of ransomware written in some foreign language that the computer is not displaying correctly?

 

Ransomware actually comes up and gives you info on who you need to contact to get your data back.   And we dont have any other Win languages other than English.



#5 Cute James

Cute James

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-June 11
  • Location: Hamamatsu, Japan

Posted 04 June 2014 - 12:04

I believe this is related to a missing font - probably something like Microsoft Sans Serif or whatever is the default screen font in Windows 7.

 

Did you perhaps uninstall a themepack which accidentally deleted a font?

Okay, perhaps not.

 

This looks like a similar issue:

 

http://www.sevenforu...-can-t-log.html



#6 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 04 June 2014 - 12:07

I've uninstalled SolidWorks 2012 SP5 from clients before without this issue. Did you use the SW installation manager to remove all components?

 

That said it looks to me like the OS itself has somehow been corrupted.



#7 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 04 June 2014 - 12:08

My guess would be bad hardware or corrupt os, if it's not the hardware (ram) then Looks like a reformat dude, sorry.

#8 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 04 June 2014 - 12:14

I've uninstalled SolidWorks 2012 SP5 from clients before without this issue. Did you use the SW installation manager to remove all components?

 

That said it looks to me like the OS itself has somehow been corrupted.

 

Installation manager?  This is something that was dropped on me and I am just getting involved.  I had a consultant onsite to help with the installs since I didnt have time and I head nothing of an installation manager.

 

My guess would be bad hardware or corrupt os, if it's not the hardware (ram) then Looks like a reformat dude, sorry.

 

Yea, already having a guy prepping another machine.  Just was curious on the cause as I have not seen this before.



#9 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 04 June 2014 - 12:32

Installation manager?  This is something that was dropped on me and I am just getting involved.  I had a consultant onsite to help with the installs since I didnt have time and I head nothing of an installation manager.

 

This thing:

 

SolidWorks-2012-SP5.0-Installations-Mana

 

From my experience it allows for a clean installation and uninstallation of Solidworks.



#10 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 04 June 2014 - 13:05

This thing:

 

 

 

From my experience it allows for a clean installation and uninstallation of Solidworks.

 

Yea, we are using that.  We are doing uninstalls first tho via Programs and Features.