Jump to content



Photo

[Microsoft Excel 2013] How do I auto-fill cells?

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MariosX

MariosX

    The man with no dreams

  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Dreamless Land
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 04 June 2014 - 14:36

Hello.

I'm working with excel and I would like to know if it is possible if excel can auto fill some cells in a row when I insert a number in a certain cell, see the attached picture for an example.

 

As you can see in the picture I have 3 columns: ID, Name, Country and I want when I insert the ID, the columns Name & Country to get automatically filled.

 

This will make the job much easier for me.

 

Thanks in advance

Attached Images

  • download.png




#2 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 04 June 2014 - 14:45   Best Answer

http://office.micros...P001216366.aspx

http://www.mrexcel.c...other-cell.html

http://stackoverflow...ue-from-a-range



#3 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 04 June 2014 - 14:49

I'm not great with Excel, but where is this information coming from? Is it in a database, a text file? Have you got it written down on some paper? The reason for asking is that there is a data import option under the data tab that could help speed things up.

#4 OP MariosX

MariosX

    The man with no dreams

  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Dreamless Land
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 04 June 2014 - 14:51

I'm not great with Excel, but where is this information coming from? Is it in a database, a text file? Have you got it written down on some paper? The reason for asking is that there is a data import option under the data tab that could help speed things up.

 

From paper.. I have to type it down each time.



#5 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 04 June 2014 - 15:05

I think Spikey_Richie's second link would be your best approach then. You would still need to enter the values for each person once on sheet 2, but once that is done sheet 1 becomes easier as you only have to enter the numbers.

#6 OP MariosX

MariosX

    The man with no dreams

  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Dreamless Land
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 04 June 2014 - 15:20

Wonderful job!

Thanks!

VLookup does the job!