Jump to content



Photo

Chrome modern broken?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 06 June 2014 - 18:10

So setting up and playing around with my new i5 Lenovo miix 2 tablet today I decide to try the touch version of chrome since its the only other modern/touch browser around yet? And it appears to be completely broken.

 

Is chrome modern currently broken or is there something else that causes this ?

 

 

Attached Images

  • chrometouch.jpg



#2 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 09:43

No one ?



#3 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 10:32

Which Chrome version you are using? Stable, Beta or Dev or 32-bit or 64-bit on Windows 8 or Windows 8.1? Video card driver?

 

Any extra flags enabled from about:flags?



#4 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:03

The 'modern' version of Chrome isn't really a touch browser.  However, mine does render normally.



#5 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:14

Chrome is currently fine when using the Metro version - for me at least. 
Sorry all I can suggest is a reinstall to see if that fixes those graphical issues. 



#6 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:51

Which Chrome version you are using? Stable, Beta or Dev or 32-bit or 64-bit on Windows 8 or Windows 8.1? Video card driver?

 

Any extra flags enabled from about:flags?

 

The regular 42bit one downloaded from the chrome page, no beta or such. and latest intel driver from windows update



#7 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 13:17

The regular 42bit one downloaded from the chrome page, no beta or such. and latest intel driver from windows update

 

32-bit you mean, I understood, so don't mind. Also Intel just recently updated their drivers, so I suggest you to try them rather from windows update.

Also look into about:gpu whether if some hardware acceleration disabled or not.

 

Updated driver links: https://communities....om/thread/52124



#8 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 07 June 2014 - 13:20

That looks like graphic card problem/rendering problem not actual Chrome itself. You might wanna head over to amd.com or nvidia.com and update first.



#9 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 14:45

32-bit you mean, I understood, so don't mind. Also Intel just recently updated their drivers, so I suggest you to try them rather from windows update.

Also look into about:gpu whether if some hardware acceleration disabled or not.

 

Updated driver links: https://communities....om/thread/52124

 

Can't install Intel's drivers. I did upgrade just the graphics part manually. No change, no change with or without chrome hwa either.



#10 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 21:39

Can't install Intel's drivers. I did upgrade just the graphics part manually. No change, no change with or without chrome hwa either.

 

Sometime Google manually put users in field trails and enable selective flags, I suggest go into about:flags and restart to default as well. Might be this could fix something.



#11 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 22:06

I tried the beta version as well same problem. Canary doesn't do modern/immersive it seems

 

I wonder why google and FF complain so much about not being allowed to do RT browsers when they apparently don't care at all.

 

I don't suppose anyone forked the FF modern/touch build into one of the other alternative FF builds ?



#12 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 22:36

I tried the beta version as well same problem. Canary doesn't do modern/immersive it seems

 

I wonder why google and FF complain so much about not being allowed to do RT browsers when they apparently don't care at all.

 

I don't suppose anyone forked the FF modern/touch build into one of the other alternative FF builds ?

 

Canary should allow immersive mode when Chromium can also do it.

Nope, nobody forked FF modern build, although some old build might be available in tinderbox builds although I will not recommend it using.

 

I think more like this issue is related to some field trail test nuking your immersive mode or Intel graphic driver messing up.