Jump to content



Photo

Chrome modern broken?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 06 June 2014 - 18:10

So setting up and playing around with my new i5 Lenovo miix 2 tablet today I decide to try the touch version of chrome since its the only other modern/touch browser around yet? And it appears to be completely broken.

 

Is chrome modern currently broken or is there something else that causes this ?

 

 

Attached Images

  • chrometouch.jpg



#2 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 09:43

No one ?



#3 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 10:32

Which Chrome version you are using? Stable, Beta or Dev or 32-bit or 64-bit on Windows 8 or Windows 8.1? Video card driver?

 

Any extra flags enabled from about:flags?



#4 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:03

The 'modern' version of Chrome isn't really a touch browser.  However, mine does render normally.



#5 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:14

Chrome is currently fine when using the Metro version - for me at least. 
Sorry all I can suggest is a reinstall to see if that fixes those graphical issues. 



#6 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:51

Which Chrome version you are using? Stable, Beta or Dev or 32-bit or 64-bit on Windows 8 or Windows 8.1? Video card driver?

 

Any extra flags enabled from about:flags?

 

The regular 42bit one downloaded from the chrome page, no beta or such. and latest intel driver from windows update



#7 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 13:17

The regular 42bit one downloaded from the chrome page, no beta or such. and latest intel driver from windows update

 

32-bit you mean, I understood, so don't mind. Also Intel just recently updated their drivers, so I suggest you to try them rather from windows update.

Also look into about:gpu whether if some hardware acceleration disabled or not.

 

Updated driver links: https://communities....om/thread/52124



#8 +Anarkii

Anarkii

    Member N° 1,455

  • Joined: 02-October 01
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.2 Pro (8.1 Update 1)
  • Phone: iPhone 5, iOS 8

Posted 07 June 2014 - 13:20

That looks like graphic card problem/rendering problem not actual Chrome itself. You might wanna head over to amd.com or nvidia.com and update first.



#9 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 14:45

32-bit you mean, I understood, so don't mind. Also Intel just recently updated their drivers, so I suggest you to try them rather from windows update.

Also look into about:gpu whether if some hardware acceleration disabled or not.

 

Updated driver links: https://communities....om/thread/52124

 

Can't install Intel's drivers. I did upgrade just the graphics part manually. No change, no change with or without chrome hwa either.



#10 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 21:39

Can't install Intel's drivers. I did upgrade just the graphics part manually. No change, no change with or without chrome hwa either.

 

Sometime Google manually put users in field trails and enable selective flags, I suggest go into about:flags and restart to default as well. Might be this could fix something.



#11 OP HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 June 2014 - 22:06

I tried the beta version as well same problem. Canary doesn't do modern/immersive it seems

 

I wonder why google and FF complain so much about not being allowed to do RT browsers when they apparently don't care at all.

 

I don't suppose anyone forked the FF modern/touch build into one of the other alternative FF builds ?



#12 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 07 June 2014 - 22:36

I tried the beta version as well same problem. Canary doesn't do modern/immersive it seems

 

I wonder why google and FF complain so much about not being allowed to do RT browsers when they apparently don't care at all.

 

I don't suppose anyone forked the FF modern/touch build into one of the other alternative FF builds ?

 

Canary should allow immersive mode when Chromium can also do it.

Nope, nobody forked FF modern build, although some old build might be available in tinderbox builds although I will not recommend it using.

 

I think more like this issue is related to some field trail test nuking your immersive mode or Intel graphic driver messing up.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!