Jump to content



Photo

GTA V for PC c-c-c-c-c-onfirmmmmmmmmed

grand theft auto gta v rockstar north take-two interactive pc

  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#31 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 10 June 2014 - 15:08

nice. i'm sure i'll never get around to playing it, but glad to see it's coming out on PC.

 

I skipped GTA4 but I might give 5 a go, at least you know the scale of things and that you'll get a lot of gameplay out of it unless you get bored quick, heh. 

 

It's also why I still play the Assassins Creed games, I know I'll get at least 40-50hrs worth from them and not some quick little 12hr thing.




#32 Andrew

Andrew

    Guardian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 10 June 2014 - 16:55

Already finished it on 360 last year and haven't touched it since. The story was good up to the last hour or so. GTA IV was a lot better in that regard.

 

Still, I'll probably buy a complete edition one day on PC, when it's on sale for the DLC.

 

Topic moved



#33 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 10 June 2014 - 18:07

Will this be available for pre order on Steam?



#34 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 10 June 2014 - 18:11

This means I will need to recall my rocktar ***holes club username though.
Horrible multi login 'social' clubs - it is bad enough to have Steam as a requirement for games.

Edited by _Alexander, 10 June 2014 - 18:19.


#35 Xtreme2damax

Xtreme2damax

    Master of Everything

  • Joined: 02-January 07
  • Location: Auburn, New York

Posted 10 June 2014 - 18:20

And their reasoning is hilarious. 

 

"So PC Gamers learn their lesson and stop stealing games"

 

Console games are pirated just as much as pc games.

 

That generalization. Yes all of us PC gamers never pay for games and pirate them, that's why my Steam collection has over 200 games and I have around 50 to 100 retail games sitting in a couple boxes here at home. So punish us all because of the actions of some. Thanks to digital distribution, Steam etc.. PC gaming is more popular than it would've been and selling on Steam alone not accounting for other platforms is bound to generate a decent chunk of sales.



#36 +SharpGreen

SharpGreen

    Now with built-in BS detector.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Ubuntu 14.04, 12.04 and Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus

Posted 10 June 2014 - 18:36

And their reasoning is hilarious. 

 

"So PC Gamers learn their lesson and stop stealing games"

 

Console games are pirated just as much as pc games.

this also implies piracy has a meaningful effect on sales. Which it has been shown to not.



#37 OP Kalint

Kalint

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 07

Posted 10 June 2014 - 18:53

This means I will need to recall my rocktar ***holes club username though.
Horrible multi login 'social' clubs - it is bad enough to have Steam as a requirement for games.

Awwww crap.  Forgot about social club :(



#38 Orange

Orange

    Oh Yes!

  • Joined: 31-July 04
  • Location: Farnborough, Hampshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 10 June 2014 - 19:04

PS4 for me, completed it on xbox 360!!



#39 Zimmedon

Zimmedon

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-March 06

Posted 10 June 2014 - 19:30

This means I will need to recall my rocktar ***holes club username though.
Horrible multi login 'social' clubs - it is bad enough to have Steam as a requirement for games.

 

Seeing as GFWL is finally on its way out, it'll probably use Steamworks this time around. I forgot about Social Club though. Wonder if they'll let you sign in using your Steam account like with other games.



#40 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 10 June 2014 - 19:43

What did they do for Max Payne 3, did that require Rockstar Social Club?



#41 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 10 June 2014 - 19:49

What did they do for Max Payne 3, did that require Rockstar Social Club?

Yes it did.



#42 _dandy_

_dandy_

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 04

Posted 10 June 2014 - 20:20

hate to admit it but i have no faith that GTA V for PC will be any better optimized for PC than IV was. 

 

That'd be fine by me.  I'd been playing GTA IV for months on my i7 (now rather ancient) before I was even made aware, by reading some message boards, that it was poorly optimized.  Even back then I hadn't been playing games in years, so I was playing it with some very average video card (can't remember which I was using at the time), and it was smooth as glass through and through.

 

Now that I think about it...GTA IV is the last game I bought/played since, well, GTA IV.  I'll definitely be getting V.



#43 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 10 June 2014 - 20:56

Yes it did.

 

Dag nabbit :(



#44 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 10 June 2014 - 21:01

Dag nabbit :(

Well, yes and no, if referring to the ps3 version, you didn't HAVE to have it, or sign into it (if I recall)

I know I could both campaign and online without ever signing in (there is an option to do so) on the ps3 version, I used to sign in due to needing to manage my crew(guild/clan, call it whatever :) )



#45 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 10 June 2014 - 21:16

Well, yes and no, if referring to the ps3 version, you didn't HAVE to have it, or sign into it (if I recall)

I know I could both campaign and online without ever signing in (there is an option to do so) on the ps3 version, I used to sign in due to needing to manage my crew(guild/clan, call it whatever :) )

 

Was talking about the PC version, but informative nonetheless :)