Photo

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 acertim

acertim

Neowinian

• 498 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 20:17

I am a local artist that releases 1-2 albums on CD per year.  There is a website that uploads my cds, and others like it, and put its for free download on file hosting sites.  All of their content is illegal music that their users can download via filehosts.  What can I do about this?

#2 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

Resident Idealist

• 6,081 posts
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 11 June 2014 - 20:19

If you figure it out, let the RIAA know immediately :p

The best you can probably do is copyright infringement notices on the file hosts. Might be worth asking someone in the know (lawyer maybe) if you can send a cease and desist to the website in question?

#3 OP acertim

acertim

Neowinian

• 498 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 20:25

Is the problem really that bad? 

#4 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

Resident Idealist

• 6,081 posts
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 11 June 2014 - 20:28

Well, you could try just asking the website to remove your links as a first step, but other than that, there's not really much else you can do.

#5 OP acertim

acertim

Neowinian

• 498 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 20:32

I've tried and have never got a repsonse from that website.  Can I make a complaint to the host of their website?  Is that even effective?

#6 +Phouchg

Phouchg

Resident Misanthrope

• 5,689 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 20:33