Jump to content



Photo

Computer performance issues


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 cbrookhart

cbrookhart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 06
  • Location: Staten Island, NY

Posted 12 June 2014 - 22:42

There are at least three computers where I work which have been experiencing complete system freezes. Some of these system freezes occur within 20 minutes of logging in and happen in 20 minute intervals. Other times, the system freeze happens about 1 to 2 hours after logging in. The computers are rarely restarted after use and only get logged off for the next user to login. The system admin has run a forced group policy update and cleared out saved profiles as troubleshooting steps. One computer is completely frozen. The mouse doesn't move on the screen and the keyboard doesn't respond. With multiple computers having the same issue lately, I think there is something in common with them like an update that caused this to happen. The computers are running Vista and have 4GB of memory. Any ideas as to what's causing the system freezes?


#2 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 12 June 2014 - 23:08

Are they the same make and model or all different? And have you made sure everything is updated?

 

This seems like it could be something installed on them, whether malware or intentional. If they are build from the same WIM image it may have something wrong with it.



#3 OP cbrookhart

cbrookhart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 06
  • Location: Staten Island, NY

Posted 17 June 2014 - 02:52

The computers are all the same make/model and everything is updated. The performance issues only seem to affect certain computers. Last Friday, the issue was thought to be resolved, but then in the afternoon, Outlook wouldn't run except in safe mode. I had to use OWA to get access to my e-mail. Today the mouse and keyboard were changed out, but I don't think that has resolved the problem. I believe the computer has even been reimaged, but still periodically freezes.



#4 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 17 June 2014 - 02:59

There are at least three computers where I work which have been experiencing complete system freezes. Some of these system freezes occur within 20 minutes of logging in and happen in 20 minute intervals. Other times, the system freeze happens about 1 to 2 hours after logging in. The computers are rarely restarted after use and only get logged off for the next user to login. The system admin has run a forced group policy update and cleared out saved profiles as troubleshooting steps. One computer is completely frozen. The mouse doesn't move on the screen and the keyboard doesn't respond. With multiple computers having the same issue lately, I think there is something in common with them like an update that caused this to happen. The computers are running Vista and have 4GB of memory. Any ideas as to what's causing the system freezes?

Have you checked to see if it's anything hardware related?

 

Edit: Have you people tried booting it on Safe Mode and tested it out that way?

 

Also, check this out:

http://www.neowin.ne...#entry596446471

 

There may be some basic steps, but you never now what you haven't tried out yet!



#5 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 17 June 2014 - 03:04

The computers are all the same make/model and everything is updated. The performance issues only seem to affect certain computers. Last Friday, the issue was thought to be resolved, but then in the afternoon, Outlook wouldn't run except in safe mode. I had to use OWA to get access to my e-mail. Today the mouse and keyboard were changed out, but I don't think that has resolved the problem. I believe the computer has even been reimaged, but still periodically freezes.


If the issue is affecting only certain computers, and you have multiple machines equipped with the same hardware, then I think you could try swapping hardware between them to see whether a certain component is able to transfer the freezing behavior.

#6 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 17 June 2014 - 03:16

Event logs, mini dump files, heat related issues, physical damage to the capacitors on the main board or vid card, run a mem test... That is where I would start looking.

#7 OP cbrookhart

cbrookhart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 06
  • Location: Staten Island, NY

Posted 17 June 2014 - 12:03

The thought is that this issue is being caused by insufficient power, so a UPS is being connected to the computer to see what that does as far as resolving the issue. Will have to look into the other suggestions.



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 June 2014 - 12:10

"so a UPS is being connected to the computer to see what that does as far as resolving the issue."

 

What?  Do you have an issue with building power that is low voltage?  If you had a building power problem, why are not all the machines having problems?  What UPS are you using that is going to compensate for low voltage, etc.  Why are the machines not on ups currently?  Why are the machines running freaking vista??  And they have been reimaged - to vista?

 

I am with sc302, what is in the event logs for a huge start.



#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 17 June 2014 - 12:55

Ups won't solve locking up. Completely shutting down yes. I have never seen low voltage lock up a computer. And you would need a server ups that would support power conditioning to protect you from brown outs or high voltage. a 50 or 100 dollar ups does not have the capability to power condition.

#10 OP cbrookhart

cbrookhart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 06
  • Location: Staten Island, NY

Posted 17 June 2014 - 16:35

I found out some additional details.

 

The computer which was locking up was changed out with a known & good working computer of a different model, but same make as all the others. When that known & good working computer was connected, it began locking up (but not instantly). Since two computers have been connected to the same location and both were locking up, the IT folks didn't know what else to try. This is why a UPS was brought in.

 

I'll suggest to the IT folks to take a look at the logs. I do know the first thing they did was run a diagnostic scan, but scan report did not show anything to be wrong.

 

The organization I work for isn't up to date with the latest OS because of the many various local programs used, which may or may not be compatible with Windows 7 (don't know that my organization will be moving to Windows 8 anytime soon). I suspect that once support for Vista ends, the computers will be upgraded to Windows 7.



#11 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 17 June 2014 - 16:43

Since they're all the same hardware, I'd try swapping the hard drive/s between a machine that works and one that's giving problems.  A dying hard drive can cause a wide variety of problems including the ones you've mentioned.



#12 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 17 June 2014 - 17:34

Could even be nic or cable related. If it is wireless it could be wifi related.

Esp if it is location specific. Need to run tests on the line and need to verify distance to switch. 100m is the max distance.

#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 June 2014 - 17:54

What software runs on vista but not 7?? Have never heard of that issue ever.. Now if you were XP, then sure. Mainstream support on vista has already ended btw - April 10, 2012 http://windows.micro...ndows/lifecycle

Connected how - same power? Same network drop? Wireless as mentioned?

#14 OP cbrookhart

cbrookhart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-February 06
  • Location: Staten Island, NY

Posted 20 June 2014 - 16:14

The original computer that was frequently locking up was replaced by another computer from within the office. That computer was supposedly known to be a working computer with no issues, but that didn't turn out to be the case. Whether or not any hardware was swapped out, I can't say for sure. Yesterday, a brand new out of the box computer was setup. The new mouse and keyboard which came with the new computer were also setup. Now that there is a brand new computer in place of the previous two, there have so far not been any problems with performance.