Jump to content



Photo

Ad covering items

request

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 18 May 2014 - 18:54

So I had this happen a few weeks ago, and a few times since, but got fed up today.

 

It's an Epson Brightlink ad.  It covers the New Forum Posts box.  I refreshed the page, and could see the box, but couldn't click on anything without taking me to the Epson page, even though the ad wasn't pulled down.  Real annoying.  If my mouse crosses that box at all, it drops down and covers stuff.

 

That ad the HUGE frontpage ad I see at the top that pushes everything on the page down almost out of browser windows.  I believe it was Intel? 




#2 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 18 May 2014 - 19:07

First thing they'll ask is for a screenshot



#3 COKid

COKid

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-April 10
  • Location: Loveland, CO

Posted 18 May 2014 - 19:16

I agree, and this issue has been brought up before. Real annoying indeed. And people wonder why folks use ad blockers to block obtrusive adverts like this.



#4 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13
  • Location: USA
  • OS: W8.1 u1
  • Phone: Nokia 521

Posted 18 May 2014 - 19:27

I agree, and this issue has been brought up before. Real annoying indeed. And people wonder why folks use ad blockers to block obtrusive adverts like this.

... or subscribe.

#5 xbamaris

xbamaris

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-October 09

Posted 18 May 2014 - 20:27

Yeah the ad has been a problem for me too, I think its supposed to push the items down but it just covers it instead... unless they fixed it...  Because it seems to be fine now... but earlier today and last week it was doing it. 



#6 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 19 May 2014 - 14:23

Next time it happens, mind posting a screenshot of the ad?



#7 OP farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 28 May 2014 - 02:25

Will do.  Didn't think of posting a screenshot for some reason.  Usually I move on, but it was particularly annoying as I couldn't click on the link to forum post.



#8 compl3x

compl3x

    Feels good, dunnit?

  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 29 May 2014 - 13:16

The ads I keep getting are those sleazy dating style ones. "Want to meet Asian women?" and the like. I don't really care, it's not offensive to me or anything, but I used to get a mix of all different ads but lately it seems the top banner has been dominated with those ones.



#9 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 30 May 2014 - 07:01

The ads I keep getting are those sleazy dating style ones. "Want to meet Asian women?" and the like. I don't really care, it's not offensive to me or anything, but I used to get a mix of all different ads but lately it seems the top banner has been dominated with those ones.

I will go through our adsense today. I have had to change it to our own for one advertiser who is having trouble with delivery. (our own hasn't been used for a couple of years) I may need to apply some filters.



#10 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 30 May 2014 - 07:22

Checked the categories and dating type ads are (still) blocked on our own rotation. Next time you see it pls do a screenshot and do a firebug report for that element (it's an extension for Chrome and Firefox) alternatively you can also give me the location of where the ad goes. It might be an ad not under our control.



#11 +Arron

Arron

    Legendary

  • Joined: 14-June 10
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro

Posted 30 May 2014 - 17:03

I'm having an issue with that top ad also.

 

When I go to sign in the login box is over-layered by the ad block.

 

Screenshot:

a4q7Ud4.png



#12 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 30 May 2014 - 17:22

Yeah I had that and the Brocade one. 



#13 OP farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 01 June 2014 - 00:00

This is over the latest forum posts.

Untitled.png



#14 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 01 June 2014 - 00:46

The ads I keep getting are those sleazy dating style ones. "Want to meet Asian women?" and the like.

I've had that too, which meant I couldn't use Neowin at work...



#15 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 68
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 01 June 2014 - 10:18

^ I have reported those types of ads, and will double check the overlay issues. Members who are logged in should never see those :/