Jump to content



Photo

Comcast open WiFi hotspot, so why the caps?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

    Graphic Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Lawrenceville, GA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925 (T-Mobile)

Posted 16 June 2014 - 07:13

So the excuse Comcast give customers that they gave data caps so it does not slow down the internet around them that only use very little. I don't get it, if they are they trying to get high data user to cut back then why open hotspot to customers around big cities? That would only slow down Comcast customer a when using Comcast.

The way Comcast get this hotspot to many area is to not install new equipment on electric lines but use customers WiFi router and use a different port on it, to customers around them. Comcast tells the customers that they are doing this by snail mail but no one reads it and you have to opt out from it. Your thoughts on the matter?


#2 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 16 June 2014 - 08:34

So the excuse Comcast give customers that they gave data caps so it does not slow down the internet around them that only use very little. I don't get it, if they are they trying to get high data user to cut back then why open hotspot to customers around big cities? That would only slow down Comcast customer a when using Comcast.

The way Comcast get this hotspot to many area is to not install new equipment on electric lines but use customers WiFi router and use a different port on it, to customers around them. Comcast tells the customers that they are doing this by snail mail but no one reads it and you have to opt out from it. Your thoughts on the matter?

What they are doing is decietful and is downright wrong. They are doing this to save money and take advantage of it's customers. A complaint should be made.



#3 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 June 2014 - 13:10

They don't want you to use it so they can sell it to more people! :p



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 June 2014 - 13:27

So they just put in a business line at the office, to have the hotspot they put in another gateway.  With its own wifi - this is has no impact on the connection being paid for.

 

Now from understanding in the home version of this - they are using the wifi of existing device - this clearly limits the wifi of the user, be it isolated and different ssid or not.  The device only has so much wifi capacity - users using the hotspot take away from the customers wifi bandwidth.  Now be it their are using the actual internet bandwidth of the customer is yet to be seen.  How many channels does the device support, how many channels is the the customer using to provide their bandwidth and performance.  I doubt without a 2nd device that users would not see performance issue if 5 people are connected downloading something, etc.

 

Simple solution - don't use their device and buy your own.  This way your not paying them their rental fee in the first place.  Now if they want to setup hotspot at end of their cable in your home - then you should be compensated for this plain and simple.  Lower bill if you opt in would be example I could see.



#5 Bigkaye

Bigkaye

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-June 14

Posted 17 June 2014 - 10:36

free power and existing hardware to launch and keep a HUGE wifi network operational?? Give people more access points so they can connect on the go and burn well over those data 'thresholds' we implemented? Holy christ Brian, your Christmas bonus is going to be colossal this year!

 

But honesty, how long before people just make a fake xfinitywifi hotspot with a login screen that forwards the user/passwords entered to you?  there goes the bandwidth cap and you'll probably get HBO go to boot!