Jump to content



Photo

Satellite Internet Questions


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 17 June 2014 - 07:11

I am hoping there is a class-C satellite guru in the HH midst.

I have a project starting in September which will require satellite driven internet & know next to nothing about it.

We are building a plant in Fiji, and it is in the middle of the jungle.  Satellite internet will be the only way we can get internet access, and I am hoping someone has done due diligence in this area and can tell me a little info.

I have talked to a local ISP out of Suva, Fiji and their quote was for a 2Mb connection, that was metered (not unlimited data) and they wanted $3000/mo USD.

 

Some of the execs want the ability to monitor production, and vid cams from the states & a 2Mb connection doesnt cut it.  I found a company advertising 5Mb connections anywhere in the South Pacific but it was $6000/mo & it would be shared with other people/companies/countries.  I dont have a budget, but dont want to tell the suits its gonna be more than $10,000/mo !


Is it possible to have your own satellite for ISP purposes without actually buying the satellite or leasing from the gov't ?

If anyone knows anything about this I would appreciate, September is approaching fast & this is a must have.  I have a company coming out to the construction site to do a survey as soon as we finish building the roads, but I would like to have more vendors to talk to.

 

What scares me is there is a large company about 6 miles away and their satellite dish has to be 50' across !  I joked saying it looked like the SETI dish in Arecibo, Puerto Rico !


Thx




#2 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 17 June 2014 - 07:50

Satellite Internet is Inherently expensive. It has been coming down in cost over the years. Try a provider outside the US. There will be one that will probably give you coverage.

 

Look here, Again I have no idea on pricing but they have an app they have developed for Cameras and such.

 

http://www.oceanicbr...adband-services



#3 OP T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 17 June 2014 - 10:39

Satellite Internet is Inherently expensive. It has been coming down in cost over the years. Try a provider outside the US. There will be one that will probably give you coverage.

 

Look here, Again I have no idea on pricing but they have an app they have developed for Cameras and such.

 

http://www.oceanicbr...adband-services

Thanks man.

Actually Oceanic BB was one of the companies I requested someone to contact me.  I hope to hear from them withing the next day or two.

You are right about it being expensive, but its the only option I have. :/



#4 +Odom

Odom

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-August 06

Posted 17 June 2014 - 11:16

At my last job we tested internet via satelite as a backup (the test was made at a facility in Germany). It was very very expensive and for our requirements impracticable. My previous company mostly worked with applications via Citrix and using that over a satelite link was bad to work with. There was a high latency (>200ms) wich proved impracticable for day to day work for the users.

Typing in Word was horrible, you could really notice the delay. Sound and video over Lync lagged.

In essence, it was ok for an emergency internet access to other locations so that the core business could run, but not good enough to have users actively working through it.

 

It will depend how you work at the facility and what you will be sending through the internet link. You can try and use Citrix repeaters at each end that compress &/or cache the data before sending, whoever we didn't get around to testing it at the time with the satelite feed.



#5 OP T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 18 June 2014 - 02:18

Thanks Odom.

There will be less than 10 people that require access, most will be production line workers and wont be on a computer.  To minotor production machine output wont take up much bandwidth (connecting to a Siemens 7 system).   My concern is the execs dont know anything about tech & some are kinda old school (old guys with money) and when things are slow/bad I will inevitably hear the "somethings wrong, its so slow" all day everyday.

 

So I think, all things considered, I need to find a solution that costs more to offset all of the potential lag/connectivity issues.  I need to contact someone about leasing our own satellite I think :pinch:



#6 +Odom

Odom

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-August 06

Posted 18 June 2014 - 10:30

Try to do tests if you can. When you find a provider, ask them if you can test the connection. Often they will invite you to a facility where you can do this. Prepare some tests when you go there. When we did this, the technicians from the ISP were there and could see that for us this was utterly impracticable.



#7 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 18 June 2014 - 10:44

Just putting it out there... is a microwave link an alternative option?



#8 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 18 June 2014 - 11:33

Hahaha Rent your own Satalte. No chance.

 

The lag is there because of the technology (Round Trip Distance mainly) no other reason. Your not going to get rid of it. End of story.

 

Yeah Microwave would be perfect....If the distance is right. 



#9 Radium

Radium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 04

Posted 05 July 2014 - 19:33

Own your own satellite?
You might as well dig down your own fiber cables to the nearest international carrier exchange.
Become the local ISP and maybe offer others who live along the cable to tap into the network.
...or get a boat and a huge drum with fiber cables. ;)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!