Jump to content



Photo

Need some Hardware tips :)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Mysterioux

Mysterioux

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 13

Posted 21 June 2014 - 23:41

It's about time i upgraded my gaming rig and i need some help from you guys.

 

Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @ 3,07 GHz

Motherboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58

RAM: OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 

GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 (but i have an GTX 590 i can get for around $200 from my friend (used))

Power supply: Chill 700w

 

any suggestions?

 




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 21 June 2014 - 23:58

Get some more RAM, always a good idea. Get 3x4GB (12GB)

 

You're card is pretty much up there already, I wouldn't see an upgrade. That 590 is actually worse than the 570. I'd skip that.

 

Try getting a SSD if you don't already have one.



#3 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 22 June 2014 - 00:09

What are you trying to accomplish here? Is your system no longer performing tasks at a reasonable speed? What's your budget? 



#4 COKid

COKid

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-April 10
  • Location: Loveland, CO

Posted 22 June 2014 - 00:16

I think we should do a fundraiser for a new computer.

 

Oh wait... :huh:



#5 OP Mysterioux

Mysterioux

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 13

Posted 22 June 2014 - 00:36

I think we should do a fundraiser for a new computer.

 

Oh wait... :huh:

 

Let's go! :D

 

What are you trying to accomplish here? Is your system no longer performing tasks at a reasonable speed? What's your budget? 

 

I don't really have a budget, but yeah the computer is not really performing tasks at a reasonable speed, i've tried everything and couple of my friends said that i need to upgrade some of my hardware.

 

Get some more RAM, always a good idea. Get 3x4GB (12GB)

 

You're card is pretty much up there already, I wouldn't see an upgrade. That 590 is actually worse than the 570. I'd skip that.

 

Try getting a SSD if you don't already have one.

 

I'll be getting an SSD very soon. Is there a specific brand you're recommending? talking about ram here. :)



#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 22 June 2014 - 00:56

Always liked G.Skill. The Ripjaws line is great.

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231405

 

Mushkin or Corsair aren't that bad either.



#7 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 22 June 2014 - 01:22

If you're going to spend around $200, look at a little more and get a 760.  The 590 is better than the 570, but it also uses a lot more juice for little gain.

 

I definitely agree with more RAM.

 

For SSDs, I buy Samsung.  The EVOs are good on a budget, but I got a Pro myself.

 

For RAM, I typically buy Corsair, but Crucial is good, also.  I run Crucial Ballistix in my current machine, although I did get a bad stick after about 7 months I haven't returned yet.  I bought another 2x8GB kit, and will just RMA the other 8GB and run 32GB or put in another machine.



#8 ionas.alex

ionas.alex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-December 12

Posted 25 June 2014 - 08:35

You should get 16gb of ram, since they are pretty cheap these days, definitely an SSD, i would go with Intel/Samsung here and i would change the PSU to a Corsair, they are pretty neat, already built a couple of systems with Corsair PSUs and they are really nice. 



#9 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 01 July 2014 - 03:20

You should get 16gb of ram, since they are pretty cheap these days, definitely an SSD, i would go with Intel/Samsung here and i would change the PSU to a Corsair, they are pretty neat, already built a couple of systems with Corsair PSUs and they are really nice.


I believe those i7s need three chips, so 12Gb would be good as +Mindovermaster mentioned. Anything more wouldn't really be noticed. My games play EXACTLY the same with 8GB and 16GB. CoD:Ghosts runs about 2-3GB of RAM when I'm playing.

#10 OP Mysterioux

Mysterioux

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-December 13

Posted 04 July 2014 - 01:52

To those who may be wondering what i upgraded to...

 

Core I7 3960x
Evga X79 Dark
Evga GTX 780 TI Classfield
TeamGroup Xtreem LV 16GB 2600Mhz
Kingston Hyberx 2x120GB Raid 0 (OS)
Kingston HyberX 2x240GB Raid 0 (Games)
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200
Corsair D900
2x 360 Radiator
1x 140 tyk Radiator
Noctua NF on all Radiators "Push-Pull-
Swiftech MCP655 (Laing D5) Pumpe
XSPC X2O 750 Dual Bay Reservoir Pump V4

 

And here is the monster :D

 

10442996_10204242698017109_231758493794202255_o.jpg



#11 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 July 2014 - 02:38

Get a better camera, now...