Jump to content



Photo

How to change splashscreen on a Dell Latitude D630


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 janydoe13

janydoe13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-June 14

Posted 28 June 2014 - 10:15

Hi everybody 

I've made a lot a search on the web to find how to replace the splashscreen of my D630.

It seems to be hard.

Have you got an idea ?

thanks  :)




#2 Bonfire

Bonfire

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Phone: Rotary Dial

Posted 28 June 2014 - 11:55

It would require modifying and flashing the BIOS which even if you could find a utility to do it could brick your computer, so I wouldn't recommend it.



#3 OP janydoe13

janydoe13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-June 14

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:02

Hi Bonfire !

Yes I know it ! it can toast my laptop !  :/



#4 +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:02

What do you mean with splash screen? the boot logo of the OS?



#5 xSuRgEx

xSuRgEx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-August 03
  • Location: Earth

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:07

Your laptop is an old one for sure, it has a phoenix bios so you could use the phoenix bios editor

but you will also need the bios file from the dell website so you can modifi it.

 

I do not recomend doing this if you are novice.

 

link below is for the bios editor. (mods please remove it if the link is not legal)

 

http://lerika.blog.c...01-for-windows/

 

here is a guide to assist you.

 

http://www.nerdthink...rdphoenix-bios/

 

if you do brick your bios chip you can get new ones with a working bios flashed into them.

but you may need to solder on the new one, again not recomended for a novice.



#6 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:27

There are a number of times when a question is asked that, while the answer may not be blindingly obvious, the answers are available via a search engine.  Sometimes these questions tell a story, that story being that the ability to find the answer has escaped the person posing the question.  With the risks inherent to this process, and the lack of ability displayed - I suggest that you don't undertake this venture.  Moreover, the desire to modify a bios purely to display an alternate image seems a little trite compared to the risks.



#7 xSuRgEx

xSuRgEx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-August 03
  • Location: Earth

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:33

There are a lot of posts here that could have been answered by a quick google search, perhaps neowin should be come the new google?

 

If he OP wishes to change his bios logo then let them. we have pointed out the risks of doing so. There could be a totaly falid reason why it needs to be done.

compaine branding etc..

 

while its about as usefull as changing the windows xp/7 boot logs it can be a fun learning experience for them.



#8 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:47

The risks are wholly different.