Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • 20,017 posts
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 29 June 2014 - 16:27

This is the speaker set specifications:

 

Satellites: 48 watts RMS (2 x 8 W front, 16 W center, 2 x 8 W rear)
Subwoofer: 27 watts RMS

 

The speakers seem fine but the subwoofer is too tame for me (although it surprised me for 27 W, very impressive!)

 

I only use the system whilst connected to the PC.

 

I have a budget of around £80 for, basically, more bass.

 

What are my options?




#2 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,647 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 03 July 2014 - 18:08

It'll be hard to get a decent sounding sub for that amount, this is the closest to that budget I could find that comes with a reasonable bass response.



#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • 20,017 posts
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 03 July 2014 - 19:38

It'll be hard to get a decent sounding sub for that amount, this is the closest to that budget I could find that comes with a reasonable bass response.

I was thinking £80-£100 for JUST a subwoofer was a lot of money, considering this 5.1 system sounds very decent and it only cost £70 :o



#4 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,647 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 03 July 2014 - 19:44

Sadly PC audio isn't really up to the mustard, and high quality audio can cost thousands



#5 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • 8,022 posts
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 03 July 2014 - 20:31

Is it even possible to add a subwoofer to your setup?  I'm not sure how you'd wire it in.

Regardless, it's going to run you at very least $200-250 (USD) for a powered 100W subwoofer.  They get very expensive very quickly.

 

http://www.crutchfie...ers.html?tp=187

 

Honestly, your best bet is probably to buy a new speaker system.  If you want more boom, the Klipsch Promedia 2.1 will rattle your walls.  They're a little bit outside of your price range though.  If you must have 5.1, then obviously that won't do anyway.  I have the Klispch 5.1 Ultra system, which is insanely loud, but it's not made any more.

 

I'm not sure there is a good solution for your budget unfortunately. :(  Unless you buy something used.



#6 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,647 posts
  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 03 July 2014 - 22:25

Is it even possible to add a subwoofer to your setup?  I'm not sure how you'd wire it in.

Regardless, it's going to run you at very least $200-250 (USD) for a powered 100W subwoofer.  They get very expensive very quickly.

 

http://www.crutchfie...ers.html?tp=187

 

Honestly, your best bet is probably to buy a new speaker system.  If you want more boom, the Klipsch Promedia 2.1 will rattle your walls.  They're a little bit outside of your price range though.  If you must have 5.1, then obviously that won't do anyway.  I have the Klispch 5.1 Ultra system, which is insanely loud, but it's not made any more.

 

I'm not sure there is a good solution for your budget unfortunately. :(  Unless you buy something used.

 

Since the sub I linked accepts either passive or active inputs, yes it'd be very easy to add it into almost any setup :). (simply feed the pc into its line in, then the other speakers into its line out, or if your using a powered system, you can use the powered ports, or bypass the ports entirely depending on the amplifier)





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!