Jump to content



Photo

I want a TV as a monitor!


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:27

Quick question, I want to buy a 32 inch TV for my office and use it as a computer monitor, will I run into any issues? Thanks!




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:35

What are your computer specs? What do you want to connect it by? Do you game?

 

Edit: Also, what 32" TV are you looking at getting?



#3 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:35

Only that the image quality will be pants because of the low resolution when using it as a monitor.

 

But if it's main use is a TV, then it'll be fine. Just make sure it has the inputs you want/need.



#4 astropheed

astropheed

    astropheed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 08-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, AU

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:36

Should be no issues if it's not terribly old. I'm currently running a 32" TV as a Monitor for my PC.



#5 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:36

Full HD at 32" will cause you issues, yes. Small text will be annoying to read because of the distance. When closer to it everything will look horrible because the pixel density is really low. And you'll have to do a lot of tweaking to turn off all enhancers to get a proper view.

 

It's possible, just not very comfortable. TVs are for video.



#6 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:39

AFAIK with a 32 inch TV your max resolution will be 1366 x 768

 

Not enough for most purposes, IMO.



#7 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:42

I use this tv for my monitor in my room

 

http://www.amazon.co...sony 32 inch tv

 

it works really well



#8 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:43

It's generally better to go with a monitor as opposed to a TV. Especially if you're gaming as monitors typically have a higher refresh rate.



#9 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:49

Monitors are less expensive and have higher refresh and resolution rates for similar sizes.  So, why would you buy a TV to use as a monitor?  I had a friend a few years back who got a television as a monitor and he had a bear of a time getting the resolution to be up where it made it practical.  He did finally, but the image quality (for PC use) was just not as good as a comparable sized monitor.  My recommendation, don't waste your money.  Heck, if you want to have television on your PC monitor, it would be better to get a video card with a TV tuner built into it.



#10 ZakO

ZakO

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-September 07
  • Location: Finland

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:51

AFAIK with a 32 inch TV your max resolution will be 1366 x 768

 

Not enough for most purposes, IMO.

 

Most 32" TVs will support 1080p (1920x1080), still far from ideal for a 32" screen though. 



#11 OP C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:54

Specs

 

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

AMD FX 8350

GSkill Sniper Series 8GB

HIS iCooler HD7750 1GB

 

I do game on here a lot but it's mostly for work and I do work with spreadsheets and word documents.

 

Edit: And the TV is a 1080p TV and it will be on my desk so not too far away.



#12 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 30 June 2014 - 21:57

Specs

 

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

AMD FX 8350

GSkill Sniper Series 8GB

HIS iCooler HD7750 1GB

 

I do game on here a lot but it's mostly for work and I do work with spreadsheets and word documents.

 

Edit: And the TV is a 1080p TV and it will be on my desk so not too far away.

Get a monitor.



#13 eddman

eddman

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-March 11

Posted 30 June 2014 - 22:01

Quick question, I want to buy a 32 inch TV for my office and use it as a computer monitor, will I run into any issues? Thanks!

Well, most TVs do post-processing which increases the latency by a lot, which will translate to lag in gaming. Monitors do not do such stuff.

 

Although, most newer TVs do have a gaming option which apparently turns off all (most?) of those post-processing, but you'd have to check for yourself.



#14 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 30 June 2014 - 22:01

Most TVs have 1080...  

 

I have a TV as a monitor... No problem at all.

 

I can switch back and forth between PC and TV.  No problem.



#15 OP C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 30 June 2014 - 22:06

What's

 

Well, most TVs do post-processing which increases the latency by a lot, which will translate to lag in gaming. Monitors do not do such stuff.

 

Although, most newer TVs do have a gaming option which apparently turns off all (most?) of those post-processing, but you'd have to check for yourself.

 

The TV has a gaming setting.


This is the TV

http://www.bestbuy.c...01001&cp=1&lp=1