Jump to content



Photo

Comcast blocking torrents? (not illegal topic)

comcast

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Anonymous persona

Anonymous persona

    King

  • Joined: 16-July 12

Posted 01 July 2014 - 23:42

Hello everyone, I recently "upgraded" my service with comcast , which came with a router + modem,  anyway... it now seems torrents aren't working , previously they did..... I suspect my new router is blocking them?  Anyone else had this issue? 




#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 01 July 2014 - 23:53

Comcast I don't believe filters/blocks anything, are you forwarding the proper ports through the router? Are you using your own router and their router at the same time? Their modem should be in bridge mode if that's the case.



#3 ians18

ians18

    Where Unprofessional Commenting Looks Better.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 17-May 12
  • Location: On The Blue Marble
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 9926/9901, Windows 8.1 , OSX Yoesmite 10.10.2
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 Update (Dev) & "Lumia Cyan" Firmware

Posted 02 July 2014 - 00:25

I've heard they have been dishing out more copyright notices the past month or two.  :/



#4 OP Anonymous persona

Anonymous persona

    King

  • Joined: 16-July 12

Posted 02 July 2014 - 02:39

nm apparently the router has a minimum security, then medium security which blocks p2p, bitorrent, etc....  



#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 113
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:21

what is the make and model number of this device they gave you?

#6 OP Anonymous persona

Anonymous persona

    King

  • Joined: 16-July 12

Posted 02 January 2015 - 16:55

ARWIN TG862  



#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 113
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 January 2015 - 17:10

So took 6 months to answer this question?? WTF dude? Is this still an issue for you?

Thought you had already figured out the firewall settings..

Maxium Firewall: Blocks all the applications including voice applications (such as Gtalk, Skype) and P2P applicaitons. Allows Internet browsing, email, DNS and iTunes services. Medium Firewall: Blocks P2P applications and Ping to the gateway, allows all other traffic. Minimum Firewall: No appliation or traffic is blocked. This is the default configuration. Custom security: Allows to block/allow any of the applications

#8 OP Anonymous persona

Anonymous persona

    King

  • Joined: 16-July 12

Posted 02 January 2015 - 20:15

Well, I was in the hospital for a while .... thank you for the info Bud man