Jump to content



Photo

GRE?


41 replies to this topic

#1 Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 10:51

hello again people of the networking forum I know how much you are dying to hear my next issue :p...

 

I am setting up a GRE tunnel... though its a bit weird im using a debian linux behind an office network to connect to the tunnel, the tunnel is setup for me i just need to connect...

 

ip tunnel add gre1 mode gre remote TUNNELIP local IP-OF-LINUX(connected to office router) ttl 255

ip link set gre1 up

ip addr add 10.10.10.1/30 dev gre1

 

I have run these commands, the ip address i used as the local was my private address of the linux machine, should i be using my public address?




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:03

Yeah your trying to setup a gre tunnel through a nat.. Good luck with that, does the router your going through allow protocol 47? Is it forwarded to your IP on your side?

#3 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:04

Yeah your trying to setup a gre tunnel through a nat.. Good luck with that, does the router your going through allow protocol 47? Is it forwarded to your IP on your side?

I have set up a forwarder anything on 47 will go to my linux box, though allowing it? I assume it does as it is letting me forward it, cant see any other settings/fire wall to change (netgear router ftw, small office :(



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:17

47 the protocol - not the port.

#5 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:25

47 the protocol - not the port.

ahh il have a look xD I dunno why I thought port



#6 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:34

47 the protocol - not the port.

I cannot tell on this thing....I dont think il have a problem...but there is nothing about service forwarding just service blocking (Id prefer it so much more if i could just create my own router using an ITX, but apprently I am strapped for time)



#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 July 2014 - 12:13

What router are you using - I doubt many soho support protocol forwarding. What is the other end that your connecting too? Why do you want to setup a gre tunnel? And why would the tunnel not be router to router, vs some box behind the nat router?

#8 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 12:46

What router are you using - I doubt many soho support protocol forwarding. What is the other end that your connecting too? Why do you want to setup a gre tunnel? And why would the tunnel not be router to router, vs some box behind the nat router?

I can only answer some of those questions the ones I can answer is, we are a small company (a small office) having loads of networking equipment is not possible. the router is a wnr1000v2 ...sadly that is all i can answer :(

 

I seem to be pinging the address at the end of the tunnel 10.10.10.2/30 ...but i am not sure if its just ghosting...



#9 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 13:41

What router are you using - I doubt many soho support protocol forwarding. What is the other end that your connecting too? Why do you want to setup a gre tunnel? And why would the tunnel not be router to router, vs some box behind the nat router?

i got them to skip the GRE and go straight for a VPN....how do i set up a VPN ? :D 



#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 July 2014 - 13:55

what vpn is it - lets hope ssl based and not some other protocol that your soho router doesn't support :)

That router is something you would have in a home on a budget, not a company or business location of any size ;) Its like a $25 router for gosh sake.

#11 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 13:57

what vpn is it - lets hope ssl based and not some other protocol that your soho router doesn't support :)

That router is something you would have in a home on a budget, not a company or business location of any size ;) Its like a $25 router for gosh sake.

 

:( I know, its a new company I just came in recently and have to do all of this stuff... well mr budman :D I am in control (and bricking it) tell me what kind of VPN I should use... ive started with open vpn.... lol



#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 July 2014 - 14:01

so openvpn is the other end.. That is easy - your just a road warrior then? Your not wanting a site to site connection. Just install the client on the box you want to use and put in the info.

Well if they are using a home wireless router, you got lots of low hanging fruit to pick ;)

#13 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 14:05

so openvpn is the other end.. That is easy - your just a road warrior then.. Just install the client on the box you want to use and put in the info.

Well if they are using a home wireless router, you got lots of low hanging fruit to pick ;)

 

 

sadly I dont know what they will be using I was just hoping to use open vpn my end...dont know about them yet... im waiting to hear about their equipment.... they are ALOT bigger then the company i work in and its network orientated so something tells me it will be serious kit.



#14 Walid W.

Walid W.

    https://nabz0r.info

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: HTC One, iPhone 3GS & iPhone 4s

Posted 02 July 2014 - 14:06

You can use SSL VPN, Site to Site VPN. With SSL you can use client or a web browser to connect to the other site/network with Site to Site you don't need any client you're connected 24/7. What is your porpuse of using this VPN? Is it office to office and you want to use the resource at the other site all the time then you should go with S2S VPN otherwise use SSL.

 

As for GRE it seems your router doens't support it.

 

Edit: Didn't see the last two replies. :)



#15 OP Original Poster

Original Poster

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 02 July 2014 - 14:09

You can use SSL VPN, Site to Site VPN. With SSL you can use client or a web browser to connect to the other site/network with Site to Site you don't need any client you're connected 24/7. What is your porpuse of using this VPN? Is it office to office and you want to use the resource at the other site all the time then you should go with S2S VPN otherwise use SSL.

 

As for GRE it seems your router doens't support it.

 

Edit: Didn't see the last two replies. :)

yea 24 hour is preferable lol....I DONT KNOW lol i hate being under fire like this I have never set a vpn before and Im starting to look like an idiot infront of partners





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!