Jump to content



Photo

Clearos as gateway

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 ayoub

ayoub

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-July 14

Posted 05 July 2014 - 15:56

Hi everyone

it's the first im working with ClearOs.im trying to set a clearos as a gateway for a windows domain. i enables dhcp and dns on the domain controller. and set the gateway for all the clients machines + the DC as the the lan interface on the ClearOS(2 interfaces). but the client machines still cant get the internet access. i billed a lab on vmware workstaion

Clearos can connect to internet when i ping it pass through
but the others machines has no access to the internet

when i ping from a machine to the lan interface on Clearos i see the ping in the ip traffic manager but when i ping between the other machines nothing appears on the traffic manager

pleaz need help maybe i've done something wrong with configuration.if its so tell me

thanks
 



Best Answer +BudMan , 06 July 2014 - 13:39

And where does your dhcp server point the clients for gateway off your network?

"when i ping between the other machines nothing appears on the traffic manager"

Here is the thing - lets say your network is 192.168.1.0/24 and you have machine 192.168.1.100, and your AD DC box is 192.168.150 and some other client is 192.168.1.200 -- now our clearOS box is 192.168.1.50

So when you want to talk to say googledns at 8.8.8.8 -- that is not inside 192.168.1.0/24 is it - so your client sends that traffic to your gateway (which should be 192.168.1.50 - do an ipconfig /all on your client) and says hey send this to 8.8.8.8

When you .100 pings say .200 - this is same network. So why would your gateway be involved. This traffic just stays on local lan and your switch handles the traffic between .100 and .200 This is why you would not see traffic on clearOS when you ping machines on the same network.

Now since your AD, all clients should point to your AD for dns. But your gateway is your clearOS lan IP. So you need to adjust your dhcp server to send that out. Also your going to want to make sure your AD dns forwards requests for stuff that is not in your AD, like www.google.com to some other dns server that can look that up. Go to the full post



#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 July 2014 - 13:39   Best Answer

And where does your dhcp server point the clients for gateway off your network?

"when i ping between the other machines nothing appears on the traffic manager"

Here is the thing - lets say your network is 192.168.1.0/24 and you have machine 192.168.1.100, and your AD DC box is 192.168.150 and some other client is 192.168.1.200 -- now our clearOS box is 192.168.1.50

So when you want to talk to say googledns at 8.8.8.8 -- that is not inside 192.168.1.0/24 is it - so your client sends that traffic to your gateway (which should be 192.168.1.50 - do an ipconfig /all on your client) and says hey send this to 8.8.8.8

When you .100 pings say .200 - this is same network. So why would your gateway be involved. This traffic just stays on local lan and your switch handles the traffic between .100 and .200 This is why you would not see traffic on clearOS when you ping machines on the same network.

Now since your AD, all clients should point to your AD for dns. But your gateway is your clearOS lan IP. So you need to adjust your dhcp server to send that out. Also your going to want to make sure your AD dns forwards requests for stuff that is not in your AD, like www.google.com to some other dns server that can look that up.

#3 OP ayoub

ayoub

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-July 14

Posted 10 July 2014 - 23:40

thanks budman for your Answer. i had  an issue with the  Clearos vms interface , i had to change wan interface to bridge so the others machines can access to the internet

and your right about the ping . stays local



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 July 2014 - 00:36

so you would not run bridge on the clearos wan.. Not if you wanted it to be your gateway and nat.  Oh your talking bridge as far as virtual nic bridged to the physical?  How many interfaces does this host have?