Jump to content



Photo

Installed Zorin as a VM - poor performance


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 08 July 2014 - 03:26

I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

Occasionally, I will put a Linux distro on my computer as a VM just to play around and slowly learn.

I dont like ubuntu's GUI, and for the last 2 years have just used mint.  Because of a problem I ran into w/ installing VMWare tools with mint - I decided to try Zorin.

 

I am still a complete newb when it comes to linux so anytime something pops up, I have to go research.

After the initial install, I installed VmWare Tools, and rebooted.  Everything is delayed.  If I click on something, just waiting for any kind of repsonse (a window to open, a command, a program to start) is delayed a bit.

In the VM config I put 4GB RAM on it and 4 CPU cores, and all of my VMs are installed on a SSD.


Is there a common/known issue causing this, or should I just wipe it and re-install ?

Is Zorin a little sluggish ia what Im asking I guess ?

 

Thanks

 




#2 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 09 July 2014 - 09:35

I will install it later and have a look :)

 

Is it the stable one you have or verison 9 ?



#3 OP T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 10 July 2014 - 07:17

I will install it later and have a look :)

 

Is it the stable one you have or verison 9 ?

It is version 9 ....  should i scrap it altogether and stick with mint ?



#4 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:55

its a pre release so it could be bugs in it

 

try version 8 and see if its the aame

 

not had a chance to do anything my laptop died last night



#5 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 2012R2, 7, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 10 July 2014 - 14:27

I had 8.1 going in VMWare Workstation a week or two ago just out of curiosity, seemed to run fine for me, more or less on par with other distros.   (It wasn't for me though.. didn't care for it.)  Haven't tried the RC 9 build however.. always possible it's a bug.  From what I read 9 is built upon Ubuntu 14.04, and I do know that one runs without issue too.



#6 OP T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 12 July 2014 - 02:22

OK Thanks to you both.  I decided to scrap Zorin and installed latest mint - no problems thus far.