Jump to content



Photo

I'm going to faint ...

internet speeds wifi amped

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:35

Got a new gizmo for the basement, to boost the weak wi-fi signal.

 

Amped Wireless SR10000.

 

Was an SOB for me to set up, but ...

 

The speedtest.net results were shocking: :| :p :cool:  :wub:

Attached Images

  • superfast.png



#2 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:38

trying to think of some cheeky comment... umm.... hum.... congrats? :huh: :)



#3 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:40

Guess some of these marketing guys do actually tell the truth sometimes then. :p

Don't you just love it when stuff works as advertised!? (Y)

#4 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:42

Yup -- especially after tech Support told me it wasn't compatible with the Router. :angry:



#5 Walid W.

Walid W.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:46

Out of curiosity what was your speed before that 18Mbps makes you this happy? :p



#6 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:49

Guessing basement was 1 bar of signal so super crappy speeds. Now he can actually use the internet down there (pr0n and working out obviously).:shifty: :p



#7 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:59

Speed was nearly 3 megs on a good day, if the wind was blowing just right. :/

 

I just noticed on the box:

 

'UNIVERSAL, works with any router/gateway' .... pffft.

 

Not what TechSupport was telling me last night ....



#8 _dandy_

_dandy_

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-May 04

Posted 10 July 2014 - 13:01

Ummm...without a baseline to compare with, your download speed test image is completely meaningless to us.  Even 802.11g is 54Mbps, so it's not like you're comparing against the specs.

 

I could get a 802.11ac router but don't, because my incoming DSL connection is 5Mbps anyway--in my case, my wireless router isn't my bottleneck.

 

Point is, we don't know what we should be comparing against if all we have to go by is your download speed test results.

 

[Edit]  Well, there ya go.  3 vs 18, that's pretty decent.  What's your incoming speed anyway (ie, try it sitting inches away from the router, or better yet, wired)...



#9 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 10 July 2014 - 13:04

Just to perk you up - via Wireless (5GHz N - this machine doesn't have an AC card):
 
3615990618.png

#10 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 10 July 2014 - 13:06

Remixedcat likes this.



#11 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 10 July 2014 - 13:09

^ I know there is always somebody faster.

 

But for a basement wireless, the boost was fantastic to me.

 

And maybe this will give ideas for those who have slow wi-fi, in some dark corner.



#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 10 July 2014 - 18:52

And what is your internet connection suppose to be? What do you pay for, and what is the connection type B, G, N, AC? How many streams 1x1, 2x2, 3x3?

18Mbps is quite crappy for even a G connection. 21-23 would be a screaming G connection.

The use of repeaters are not the way to go about getting good wireless speeds, they are automatically /2 the bandwidth of the wireless. While it doesn't matter much if your talking a 20mbps internet connection and your talking N so that /2 still keeps you near the 20 mark. But if you had 40+ internet and your seeing 18 its not very good. While yes its much better than 3..

Why do you not just run a wire and connect your old wireless router there for far less money than $99 for that thing and your seeing 18 and your happy about it? ;) For $20 you could of bought a N wireless router 300 2x2 and ran a wire and seen actual N speeds.

#13 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 10 July 2014 - 18:57

18Mbit? sheesh I'm here mad because I can't keep a  wireless AC connection 3 stories up at 100Mbit it drops down to 70Mbit when I go to the highest point.... :rofl:  but I do get 400+Mbit when I'm near the AP



#14 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 10 July 2014 - 18:57

Could have sworn I read that baning on about Amped Wireless, was now a warnable offence!

 

Or was that just directed at 1 person? :shifty:



#15 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 13 July 2014 - 04:09

One person, almost every post was something to do about amped wireless, and they posted a few times an hour.