Jump to content



Photo

PlayStation 3 connection question

sony router wan settings ps3 support

19 replies to this topic

#1 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 12 July 2014 - 13:38

Can a PlayStation 3 connect and play on-line games thru the WAN only ?

 

Without using the LAN.

 

Any guides to needed Settings appreciated.

 

Thanks :)




#2 Polonium

Polonium

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-April 14
  • Location: Dublin

Posted 12 July 2014 - 16:35

Eh?

WAN is the wide area network, LAN is the local area network.

#3 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 16 July 2014 - 01:01

Hum, what do you mean? Are you referring to wireless? Obviously yes!



#4 +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 16 July 2014 - 01:20

I don't believe so, it needs to connect to your modem/router I believe (If you're trying to play a 2 player co op locally on 2 consoles)



#5 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:39

Hum, what do you mean? Are you referring to wireless? Obviously yes!

So what settings are needed ?

 

I made port trigger exceptions in the Router for the neighbors PS3.

 

Error comes up, 801301E.

 

Router guide says Guest network is isolated from primary LAN.

 

And there is no way to DMZ Guest network.

 

Note that I am not a big gamer, nor networking expert.



#6 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:45

So what settings are needed ?

 

I made port trigger exceptions in the Router for the neighbors PS3.

 

Error comes up, 801301E.

Shouldn't need to change any settings in your router. Just hook up the PS3 to your TV, connect to the internet via wired or for wireless - choose your access point, and enter the password (if you have any). It's just as easy as connecting any device to your wireless network. 

 

801301E is a WEP key error according to the PS forums

 

Let's get terminology straightened up...

WAN = Wide Area Network.

WLAN = Wireless Local Area Network

LAN = Local Area Network



#7 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:59

^ Guest network has no security or password.

 

Is it complaining about no WEP ?

 

And this PS3 worked fine with a previous router, but not with the new router.

 

No firmware update available.



#8 +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:00

^ Guest network has no security or password.

 

Is it complaining about no WEP ?

try setting up a guest password, it might help



#9 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:29

So what settings are needed ?

 

I made port trigger exceptions in the Router for the neighbors PS3.

 

Error comes up, 801301E.

 

Router guide says Guest network is isolated from primary LAN.

 

And there is no way to DMZ Guest network.

 

Note that I am not a big gamer, nor networking expert.

 

Hum, what router is this? Why is the WLAN isolated from the primary connection? I don't know what that means...and also not a networking expert myself, just know the basic setup. Which is essentially the default for both your PS3 and your router. Are the right ports open? NAT?

 

http://community.us....D/td-p/36460512

 

And trust me, i know that when networking issues come up they are a pain in the butt...sorry this is happening, but it should be fine



#10 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 16 July 2014 - 06:55

Hum, what router is this? Why is the WLAN isolated from the primary connection? I don't know what that means...and also not a networking expert myself, just know the basic setup. Which is essentially the default for both your PS3 and your router. Are the right ports open? NAT?

 

http://community.us....D/td-p/36460512

 

And trust me, i know that when networking issues come up they are a pain in the butt...sorry this is happening, but it should be fine

Motorola -- previous router was Belkin.

 

PS3 had no troubles connecting before.

 

The Guest account is partly isolated from the main router functions.

 

I guess for 'security'.

 

The Motorola is more complicated,  in settings.

 

No firmware updates and no ww-drt stuff.

 

I still think the problem lies with the PS3 setup.

 

I'll have to look at it personally.

 

It is all important to keep gameboy on the Guest channel.

Attached Images

  • LANiso.png


#11 neoadorable

neoadorable

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05
  • Location: Flyover Country/Pacific Isle

Posted 16 July 2014 - 07:46

Are you seeing this guest SSID listed on the PS3? My guess would be the console can't see this SSID properly, it's hidden behind some kind of firewall. Gotta say this is not a very conventional arrangement you got there :(



#12 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 16 July 2014 - 13:58

No firewall set on Guest -- SSID open.



#13 Andrew G.

Andrew G.

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 16 July 2014 - 17:22

Can you provide the router model #, please? It'll let us look at the documentation / search for any known compatibility issues.

 

I'm not sure why it's causing such an issue, especially with no security.

 

Make sure the guest network is using B or G 2.4GHz band. The PS3 doesn't support 5GHz / 802.11N or AC.

 

Also make sure there isn't any MAC address filtering and the SSID is broadcasting.



#14 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 16 July 2014 - 18:28

If you're connecting to the router's guest network, check to see if it has it's own DHCP configuration for it and that your PS3 is receiving an IP address from the guest scope.

 

You might find your PS3 (if an older model, like mine) refuses to connect to AP's in "auto 20Hz/40Hz mode" for the channel width. Try setting the channel width to just 20Hz.

 

If guest network is browser authenticated / initiated (e.g like fast food resurants, hotels etc) like some routers are now providing, then the PS3 will not connect to it.

 

For what it's worth - just tested my PS3 and connects to guest wireless on my Netgear WNDR4500.



#15 OP Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 16 July 2014 - 19:21

^ Motorola SBG 6580.

 

SSID is free and open.

 

Other devices connect to Guest network fine.

 

This router only outputs 1 frequency at a time -- 2.4 gig OR 5 gig.

 

I don't see an Authentication setting.

 

Made about 12 port triggering entries as per on-line guides.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!