Jump to content



Photo

Need help fixing a soft-bricked phone please

help fix bricked android

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 4ssassin

4ssassin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-July 14
  • Location: ohio
  • OS: windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC Desire 601 (cdma)

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:04

Ok, little bit of back story first, back in February i first learned about rooting and the benefits of it. It took a confusing walkthrough and about 3 hours but i rooted my phone and it worked perfectly. Well a couple weeks ago i had received an OTA update for KitKat 4.4. But i couldn't install it because i have a rooted device. I then attempted unrooting. It didn't work out very well for me, i accidentally installed a ROM that was for GSM and not CDMA. (i didn't know there was two different kinds) As of right now there is no OS on the phone, if i tried booting it up it would be in a bootloop. I have a custom recovery on it, it's Philz touch 6  CWM Base version v6.0.4.6

Any CDMA ROM or system dump i've tried installing doesn't install properly. If someone knows how to fix this or at least walk me through how to boot up all the way so i can use the HTC toolkit it'd be much appreciated. PLease try to keep the abbreviations to a limit because i don't know what they all mean.




#2 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:12

Ok, little bit of back story first, back in February i first learned about rooting and the benefits of it. It took a confusing walkthrough and about 3 hours but i rooted my phone and it worked perfectly. Well a couple weeks ago i had received an OTA update for KitKat 4.4. But i couldn't install it because i have a rooted device. I then attempted unrooting. It didn't work out very well for me, i accidentally installed a ROM that was for GSM and not CDMA. (i didn't know there was two different kinds) As of right now there is no OS on the phone, if i tried booting it up it would be in a bootloop. I have a custom recovery on it, it's Philz touch 6  CWM Base version v6.0.4.6

Any CDMA ROM or system dump i've tried installing doesn't install properly. If someone knows how to fix this or at least walk me through how to boot up all the way so i can use the HTC toolkit it'd be much appreciated. PLease try to keep the abbreviations to a limit because i don't know what they all mean.

 

Checked here?

http://forum.xda-dev...-brick-t2811924

http://forum.xda-dev...&postcount=2725



#3 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: shamu

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:12

we need your model of phone to help edit nvm i see it listed give me a sec ill see what i can dig up

 

you need to take the sd card out, load it on a computer and move a CDMA rom over

boot into the bootloader and run flash rom.zp or flash update.zip via adb

 

If you have the different partition layout that was introduced with the KitKat update, and also have the upgraded HBOOT then I guess i'll write up this guide. To get the phone back in proper working order, you need to do this.

1) Make sure you have the HTC drivers installed, and HTC Sync Manager fully uninstalled. ADB/Fastboot and such in working order, etc.

2) Download the KitKat OTA ZIP from Duir's Drive Folder here https://drive.google...export=download and open it up and take out firmware.zip

3) Get into HBOOT on the phone, and flash that firmware.zip file by running fastboot flash zip firmware.zip and also run fastboot flash update firmware.zip both will say FAIL but for me that worked if that didn't work then relock your device by running fastboot oem lock and then get back to fastboot and run fastboot oem rebootRUU (case-sensitive) and then issue fastboot flash zip firmware.zip and also run fastboot flash update firmware.zip and reboot to fastboot again

4) If you had to relock your device unlock it by getting your Unlock_code.bin from HTCdev and issue this command when you're in fastboot which is fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

5) download Duir's TWRP recovery built for KitKat which is located here https://drive.google...d3M&usp=sharing grab the openrecovery-twrp-2.7.1.1-zaracl.img and then flash that by issuing fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.7.1.1-zaracl.img

6) Boot up into recovery, and format Data middle button on the right and type in 'Yes'  and then wipe everything (you might have to reboot back into recovery again and then wipe everything) The reason to format Data using that button is because of KitKat remapping the partitions

7) Grab the KitKat TWRP backup from here https://docs.google....2c4X0xoQXc/edit

8) while that downloads make a pseudo backup, and then when thats finished mount your SDcard and open up the KitKat TWRP backup on windows and just overwrite all the files in zara_cl442/zara_cl442 and then reboot back into recovery again.

9) Restore the Backup you made and overwrote with the KitKat TWRP backup

10) go into fastboot and go back to Duir's drive located here https://drive.google...d3M&usp=sharing and grab KK_stock_boot.img and then flash that by issuing fastboot flash boot KK_stock_boot.img in a command prompt

11) Reboot into the System and it should work

 

#4 OP 4ssassin

4ssassin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-July 14
  • Location: ohio
  • OS: windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC Desire 601 (cdma)

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:21

i have posted to XDA a couple times and my questions seem to get over looked. i can still use my recovery to mount the phone to put ROMs on the sd card. And like i said i've tried to load CDMA roms onto it, android comes up with an error.



#5 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: shamu

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:27

have you tried flashing via the bootloader with adb instead of your recovery?



#6 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:37

 

we need your model of phone to help edit nvm i see it listed give me a sec ill see what i can dig up

 

you need to take the sd card out, load it on a computer and move a CDMA rom over

boot into the bootloader and run flash rom.zp or flash update.zip via adb

 

 

 


 

 

 

Same info I found in the link I posted.  Not much to go on or support wise with this phone.

 

i have posted to XDA a couple times and my questions seem to get over looked. i can still use my recovery to mount the phone to put ROMs on the sd card. And like i said i've tried to load CDMA roms onto it, android comes up with an error.

 

What error do you get?  Do you have a custom recovery like TWRP or CWM?  Normally with helping with issues like this, any little detail you can provide is helpful.



#7 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: shamu

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:41

he is using Philz custom recovery which is based off of CWM



#8 OP 4ssassin

4ssassin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-July 14
  • Location: ohio
  • OS: windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC Desire 601 (cdma)

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:42

i'm not sure if i'm just not tech savvy enough or what, but i don't really understand what it's saying in step 3, i'm in hboot, in fastboot, do i have to flash it by CMD prompt?



#9 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:44

i'm not sure if i'm just not tech savvy enough or what, but i don't really understand what it's saying in step 3, i'm in hboot, in fastboot, do i have to flash it by CMD prompt?

 

Did you download fastboot?  If so, extract hte files and browse to the folder fastboot is located in and run the command from a command prompt.  You will also need to get the ZIP files mentioned and put then in the same folder as fastboot.

 

Here is a link to DL fastboot, adb, and others...

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2588979


he is using Philz custom recovery which is based off of CWM

 

Yea, I see it now.  Thanks :)