Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 20 July 2014 - 14:26

I have ran out of SATA II/III ports on my motherboard but I have a spare PCI-E slot.
 
I am looking to add 2x internal SATA II/III ports.
 
I searched Amazon for "PCI SATA card" but there are simply too many options!
 
I've noticed most mention "SIL3114" and "32-bit 33/66Mhz host interface". From what I can gather, these mean they're SATA (1.5 Gbit/s/150 MB/s) and not SATA II (3 Gbit/s/300 MB/s) or SATA III (6 Gbit/s/600 MB/s) - but I could be wrong.
 
Also, I know about the ASUS U3S6 card but that's £30 and I was hoping to get a card for around £10-£20 if possible since I'll only be using it to power a standard optical drive and possibly a hard drive (for music storage) in the future.




#2 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 20 July 2014 - 14:36

33/66MHz is useless for you, that's PCI not PCI express.



#3 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 20 July 2014 - 14:40

http://www.amazon.co...s/dp/B005B0A6ZS

 

Those are OK. There's a four-port version of it too. Don't expect those things to be bootable, but they're fine for storage.



#4 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 20 July 2014 - 14:44

So far, my options seem to be:

  • Syba SY-PEX40039
    2x SATA III (6 Gbit/s)
    £17.65 (Amazon UK)
  • Lycom PE-115
    2x SATA III (6 Gbit/s)
    £24.28 (Lambdatek)
  • Lycom PE-115H
    2x SATA III (6 Gbit/s), hardware RAID
    £24.51 (Scan)
  • Lycom PE-115M
    2x SATA III (6 Gbit/s), hardware RAID
    1x mSATA external port
    £24.51 (Scan)
  • Asus U3S6
    2x SATA III (6 Gbit/s)
    2x USB 3.0 external ports
    £29.44 (Amazon UK)


#5 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 20 July 2014 - 21:09

Just pick what you like best I guess. I think there's little difference.



#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 21 July 2014 - 03:16

I always used Syba for my RAID cards. Never had an issue. But, whatever you want, as Ambroos said.



#7 Rail Grinder

Rail Grinder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-August 04

Posted 21 July 2014 - 03:53

What are you planning on doing? Do you actually plan to run drives in RAID or just need the extra ports to connect individual drives?



#8 Rail Grinder

Rail Grinder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-August 04

Posted 21 July 2014 - 04:29

I looked through all the items you listed and I would advised against those. Those are based on the Marvell 91xx chipsets and although they will work just fine, you won't get the best throughput from then since it's limited to only 1x PCIe lane. The Marvell 92xx chipsets (which I'm using with my SSDs) doesn't have that bottleneck since it uses a 2x PCIe lane.

Depending on your needs go with either of these:
 

I believe SYBA also goes under the name IOCREST which might be easier to come across in the EU. If you go with the two I suggested and if it's possible on your motherboard, remember to change your bios settings to run the PCIe slot faster than 1x. Usually you can configure it to either 16x, 8x or maybe even 4x.



#9 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 21 July 2014 - 13:12

I looked through all the items you listed and I would advised against those. Those are based on the Marvell 91xx chipsets and although they will work just fine, you won't get the best throughput from then since it's limited to only 1x PCIe lane. The Marvell 92xx chipsets (which I'm using with my SSDs) doesn't have that bottleneck since it uses a 2x PCIe lane.

Depending on your needs go with either of these:
 

I believe SYBA also goes under the name IOCREST which might be easier to come across in the EU. If you go with the two I suggested and if it's possible on your motherboard, remember to change your bios settings to run the PCIe slot faster than 1x. Usually you can configure it to either 16x, 8x or maybe even 4x.

SI-PEX40057 (RAID) - £29.77 from Amazon UK.

SI-PEX40062 (no-RAID) - £30.52 from Amazon UK.

 

Bought the SI-PEX40057 (Y)



#10 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 / Chrome OS 37
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 21 July 2014 - 14:56

SI-PEX40057 (RAID) - £29.77 from Amazon UK.
SI-PEX40062 (no-RAID) - £30.52 from Amazon UK.

Bought the SI-PEX40057 (Y)

Careful installing the Marvel HyperDuo software. It is awful.

#11 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 21 July 2014 - 15:02

Careful installing the Marvel HyperDuo software. It is awful.

Do I need if it I'm just plugging one standard optical drive into it?



#12 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update 1 / Chrome OS 37
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 21 July 2014 - 15:04

Do I need if it I'm just plugging one standard optical drive into it?

You don't need it at all unless you are using the RAID features.

#13 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 21 July 2014 - 15:05

You don't need it at all unless you are using the RAID features.

I won't be.

 

That's good, then :)



#14 Rail Grinder

Rail Grinder

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-August 04

Posted 22 July 2014 - 02:52

Careful installing the Marvel HyperDuo software. It is awful.

Never needed to use it and I don't think I ever will.