Jump to content



Photo

Weird computer issues


25 replies to this topic

#16 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 20 September 2014 - 18:56

So as an update, I scanned my memory all night with mem86+. It completed 5 passes successfully and encountered 0 errors. So I'm not sure what could be the issue. It hasn't frozen up in about 2 weeks or so. However, things randomly still go wrong. Like last night, my ethernet adapter just said it was bad. I couldn't get an internet connection until I tried uninstalling the driver and restarting 3 times. Tried using the disc that came with it and it said the best available software was already installed. Things just keep randomly stop working and it seems to be different parts of the machine every 3-4 weeks o.O




#17 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 21 September 2014 - 13:23

Which Motherboard you have? and Powersupply unit?

 

Try other software utilities to monitor CPU temperature? Which OS precisely?



#18 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 22 September 2014 - 17:42

I have the http://www.asus.com/...SABERTOOTH_X79/ mobo. I'm running windows 8.1 Pro. Power supply is a 1050W Corsair. I've tried using http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html and I use coretemp as well. Both always seem to report my temperature is fine. Today, I woke up this morning and turned my computer on and Windows didn't boot. It said "Windows could not start because a required file is corrupt or missing. Press enter to try again" I restarted a couple of times and got the same message and it finally booted into windows. Just weird random ######. But every time I scan a piece of hardware it says everything is working fine. Going to run a full hdd scan on my ssd and see what happens I guess.

dxdiag link: http://www.mediafire...c7s9/DxDiag.txt



#19 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 22 September 2014 - 19:18

I have the http://www.asus.com/...SABERTOOTH_X79/ mobo. I'm running windows 8.1 Pro. Power supply is a 1050W Corsair. I've tried using http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html and I use coretemp as well. Both always seem to report my temperature is fine. Today, I woke up this morning and turned my computer on and Windows didn't boot. It said "Windows could not start because a required file is corrupt or missing. Press enter to try again" I restarted a couple of times and got the same message and it finally booted into windows. Just weird random ######. But every time I scan a piece of hardware it says everything is working fine. Going to run a full hdd scan on my ssd and see what happens I guess.

dxdiag link: http://www.mediafire...c7s9/DxDiag.txt

 

Powersupply seems decent enough although what's your full specs, if you have more than one GPU attached, alongwith couple of hard disksand overclocked then it could be issue otherwise it seems totally fine. Do you updated your motherboard BIOS to rule out BIOS issue.

 

I suggest you try to run one by one RAMs through first near slot to CPU socket and run MemTest on them. Does your RAMs support this mobo, some Mobo seems to have issues with particular vendor RAMs.



#20 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 22 September 2014 - 19:29

It sounds like your hard drive is bad.  Do you have an extra one you can use for testing?



#21 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 22 September 2014 - 19:37

It sounds like your hard drive is bad.  Do you have an extra one you can use for testing?

 

It could be cable and controller as well...



#22 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 22 September 2014 - 21:05

I really appreciate all of the combined feedback here it's been great :D. To answer your questions:

1. I only have one 780ti. Nothing is overclocked at the moment as I figured as much as I wanted to I need to get my system stable before adding more chances of making it less stable.

2. I do have other hdds, it's going to be tricky getting an OS on them though as they're all being used for some particular purpose. I can give that a shot and see.

3. My mobo supports the ram speed type. As for the vendor issue I haven't thought of that I will use google when I get off of work and see what comes up. I have http://www.microcent..._Memory_Modules) for memory. My XMP settings are set to 1866MHz

4. I'm not sure how I'd test if it'd a cable or controller directly. I suppose once I isolate that one of the hdds is good I could try to use the cable setup and use the port the current OS drive is on and see what happens I suppose?

EDIT: Also, I have a H100ti water cooler for my cpu.



#23 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 22 September 2014 - 21:11

I really appreciate all of the combined feedback here it's been great :D . To answer your questions:

1. I only have one 780ti. Nothing is overclocked at the moment as I figured as much as I wanted to I need to get my system stable before adding more chances of making it less stable.

2. I do have other hdds, it's going to be tricky getting an OS on them though as they're all being used for some particular purpose. I can give that a shot and see.

3. My mobo supports the ram speed type. As for the vendor issue I haven't thought of that I will use google when I get off of work and see what comes up. I have http://www.microcent..._Memory_Modules) for memory. My XMP settings are set to 1866MHz

4. I'm not sure how I'd test if it'd a cable or controller directly. I suppose once I isolate that one of the hdds is good I could try to use the cable setup and use the port the current OS drive is on and see what happens I suppose?

EDIT: Also, I have a H100ti water cooler for my cpu.

 

1. Fair enough Powersupply for one GPU

2. Try HD Tune and post Health Tab pics

3. Attaching pics of DDR3-1866 Mhz RAM compatibility table for mobo.

 

kN3v005.png

 

For no particular reason, Microcenter website is not loading for me and throbber is continuously showing loading so I couldn't manage to confirm about support.

 

EDIT: It loaded after a while, as from the table, it seems your motherboard support four 2 GB modules or four 8 GB modules, no luck for 4 GB ones, although I still recommend you to go for the motherboard BIOS update, if it's under warranty since it can improve system stability, also check hard disk wires once again to see whether they are plugged tightly. If you can run off your system one by one hard disk for a few days, it could confirm about faulty hard disk as well if any or controller issue if any.



#24 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted Yesterday, 02:41

So I have 4x4GB. In quad setup. Looks like that graph is showing that is not supported. So I'm going to have to buy another 16GB.

#25 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted Yesterday, 02:51

http://www.microcent..._Memory_Modules) is what I bought for my computer. I'll try the bios update tomorrow morning.

#26 OP sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted Yesterday, 12:30

I think what happened is when I replaced my new mobo that was DNA for the third time with an ASUS one, I forgot to.check if the same ram timings and things were supported. I think I'm getting closer here. I think the hdd is bad. It won't boot into windows anymore but the other hdd are responsive; though still haven't booted into windows on the others yet.