Jump to content



Photo

Windows Hosed


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 July 2014 - 02:39

Long story short, my mom's computer is totally hosed.

 

First, the internet wouldn't work. It did have internet access, but wouldn't load any web page.

 

Then, MSE (antivirus) picked up a potential virus. But when you go to clean it, an error pops up, that it wasn't successful.

 

I then ran malwarebytes, found nothing. Even ran TDSSKiller, nothing.

 

After a restart, it doesn't get past the Welcome screen. Only way I can get in is through Safe Mode.

 

I tried malwarebytes in safe mode, no effect.

 

The file that MSE found was PcProtect.dll . Can anyone find out how to fix this?




#2 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 26 July 2014 - 02:41

try combofix (if it isn't windows 8.1)

 

http://www.bleepingc...nload/combofix/



#3 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 July 2014 - 02:47

Yeah, sorry, it's Windows 7 (x32)



#4 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:01

give it a shot. run it in safe mode



#5 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:09

Ok, I now got rid of that nasty program, but I still don't get any internet. There's something blocking it. I even stopped MSE, and no dice.

 

Edit: I can go into normal mode again



#6 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:10

As with any malware, I suggest nuking it from orbit, and completely reinstalling Windows, if possible.

 

EDIT: Are you able to restore the machine to an earlier time before the malware infection?



#7 DoctorD

DoctorD

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-September 04

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:11

Have you checked internet options to see if a proxy server is setup in the connections then the LAN tab?  Make sure there are no checks in any of those boxes for proxy.



#8 Ian W

Ian W

    Physical presence asserted.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-March 13
  • OS: Windows Vista

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:12

Ok, I now got rid of that nasty program, but I still don't get any internet. There's something blocking it. I even stopped MSE, and no dice.

 

Edit: I can go into normal mode again

Have you tried resetting Internet Explorer to its default configuration?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737



#9 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:18

Personally, if normal fixes fail me I see if this works.  Nukes tend to be a pain in the ass.

 

http://www.tweaking....all_in_one.html



#10 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:18

She's using Firefox, that would be irrelevant, wouldn't it?

 

No, I have no previous restore points except for like a year ago.

 

I ran malwarebytes, and found nothing, so, yeah...

 

I'll just backup her crap and reinstall. Be done with it.

 

Or put Linux on it... :cry:  My Mom can't move away from Windows, unlike my Dad.



#11 Ian W

Ian W

    Physical presence asserted.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-March 13
  • OS: Windows Vista

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:24

She's using Firefox, that would be irrelevant, wouldn't it?

You didn't specify which browser you were using . . .



#12 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:29

You didn't specify which browser you were using . . .

 

I just assumed people these days use Firefox or Chrome. Sorry..



#13 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:40

try this before you nuke it.. it may work...find a clean copy of the drivers for the network card...go into device manager and delete the network card and drivers...restart and windows should try to reinstall drivers...use the clean drivers you found to reinstall the network card and hopefully you will get the internet back   but I agree with everyone that you should nuke it because all you are doing is putting bandaids on the problem which is your computer got compromised



#14 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 July 2014 - 03:59

I think driver is not the issue. I have Internet access, just that it won't load any web page. It can see my router. It's very odd.



#15 devn00b

devn00b

    Bong On

  • Joined: 28-September 03
  • Location: Temecula Valley

Posted 26 July 2014 - 04:15

Check the hosts file perhaps its routing a huge list of stuff to localhost. Also check the IE internet config (windows uses it) to make sure its not tryinto use a proxy also check the dns config for the nic card, had a virus once write some custom dns bull..to a client's pc.