Jump to content



Photo

Build new PC or upgrade my current PC?

pc build upgrade

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 American Ninja

American Ninja

    Don't Tread on Me!!!!

  • Joined: 05-November 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 5 32GB

Posted 30 July 2014 - 17:45

Hello All,

 

I was wondering should I upgrade my current PC I built around 5-6 years ago or should I build a new one?

 

Here are my current specs:

 

 

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz

Motherboard: ASUS P7P55D
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
Memory: 6.2 GB
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (build 9200), 64-bit

 

I mainly want to play games at higher settings. Right now I mainly play Dayz , I can play it alright but, I have to turn down the settings and the FPS still is under 30 FPS. I was thinking of upgrading my RAM to 16GB and getting a new graphics card but, I don't know if that will help or not? As for  processors, I looked at newegg and they don't even have LGA 1156 socket processors anymore.

 

What do you guys think?




#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 30 July 2014 - 17:49

it's decent enough I'd say just upgrade a couple parts

 

the only thing that you really need is a newer mobo and maybe a better graphics card



#3 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 30 July 2014 - 17:55

That can't be more than 4 years old. Intel doesn't make socket 1156 CPU's anymore. You'll have to upgrade to socket 1150 if you want the latest (consumer focused) Intel CPU's. How soon do you need an upgrade? What resolution do you play at?  I'd say upgrade to an i5 4690 and a socket 1150 motherboard, and a new graphics card. Nvidia 8xx cards are coming later this year.



#4 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 30 July 2014 - 17:56

First I would find where the bottleneck is.

 

Your 460 is dated, but DayZ should running at 1080 over 30 fps on Medium easily I think. I know my brother plays its on my old 260 gtx 1gb card at medium and he gets 30-32 with dips into low 20s. You should download GPU-Z and monitor your GPU usage in game, also have task manager open and monitor CPU. Your hitting a bottleneck somewhere.

 

From there, I would figure out whats most cost effective. Last year in Sep I built a new computer after having my old one for 6 years. My bottleneck was my CPU and to upgrade CPU and Motherboard, I was better off building a new computer that will last me another 5-6 years. I realized if I upgraded cpu, i needed a new mobo, also new ram, and then made the decision to build a new PC. Kept my hard drives and went with new everything else.



#5 OP American Ninja

American Ninja

    Don't Tread on Me!!!!

  • Joined: 05-November 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 5 32GB

Posted 30 July 2014 - 18:16

Thank you all for the suggestions. I don't need an upgrade right at the moment, maybe in a couple months or so. I play at 1920x1080. I just played some Dayz to test it and according to my system monitor display on my keyboard it says CPU: 50% RAM: 60% while playing Dayz. Right out of a game CPU: 5% RAM: 30%.



#6 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 31 July 2014 - 05:24

What's the gpu usage? 50% CPU and 60% ram is normal gaming. I am 62-80% CPU when playing bf4 and I get over 85 fps. So I would see how your GPU is doing.

#7 Kelxin

Kelxin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-April 04

Posted 31 July 2014 - 06:56

http://www.cpu-world..._i5_i5-650.html



#8 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 31 July 2014 - 07:01

6.2 GB RAM ?



#9 :B: Rex

:B: Rex

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-October 04
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Phone: Lumia Icon

Posted 31 July 2014 - 08:05

if your curious how dayz will will run on a newer system (dayz mod not the standalone)

i get a solid 60 fps (vsync) everywhere and occasionally drops to 55fps

i play with everything on very high at 1920 x 1200

 

i7 4770k @3.5 ghz, 16gb ram

2x gtx 760 in sli

(also running dual monitors and even if running firefox on the 2nd monitor it still gets 60fps)

windows 7 pro 64

 

so it is possible to get the game running very smooth