Jump to content



Photo

A wild MSI X99S-SLI PLUS appears

x99 haswell-e ddr4

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 02 August 2014 - 11:37

Well, nothing's wild about it, I just wanted to use that annoying line, really. Anyway, there it is. All black, too. That means it's awesome :)

 

A08bjvt.jpg

 


 

Meet our brand new #MSI X99S SLI PLUS which comes in all black. We can tell you a million stories but we want to keep everybody guessing until the launch.

 

Source (guru3d.com)

Source (facebook.com)

 



#2 Rohdekill

Rohdekill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 05
  • Location: Earth

Posted 02 August 2014 - 11:53

Marketing people must be getting desperate.



#3 OP Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 02 August 2014 - 15:19

They are. Especially with Z97, which didn't bring much else to the table. MSI had this "all black" I/O shield. Wow, right? Only for select boards! And Gigabyte had CPUFAN2 header mentioned in advertising materials. Definitely an innovative feature nobody else could imagine.

 

Still, I kind of like all black. Some rigs are made for show or at least with the aim to look "cool". Not having random circus of colors all over the place helps with that. Wonder why they didn't paint the I/O ports. Perhaps there's a plastic cover for that, but Asus probably holds all kinds of patents on tacky "thermal covers" (Sabertooth series).



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 August 2014 - 16:09

Is that socket 2011? Or something totally new?



#5 Ci7

Ci7

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-June 08
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iphone 5S

Posted 02 August 2014 - 16:19

Is that socket 2011? Or something totally new?

 

socket 2011-3

 

physically similar , but not backward compatible cause of different  electrical signal 



#6 OP Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 02 August 2014 - 16:27

Memory controller is located on the CPU, so there was never any chance of compatibility with older CPUs. Work on DDR4 spec hadn't been finished back when Socket R was being designed.

 

DDR4 is the key innovation (*cough*) here. Other stuff is what Z97 boards already have - M.2, SATA Express, native USB 3.0 all around and quite probably Realtek ALC 1150 with a range of goodies (shielded layer, funny looking caps, swappable op-amps and -wow!- LED strip).



#7 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 August 2014 - 16:27

socket 2011-3

 

physically similar , but not backward compatible cause of different  electrical signal 

 

Ah, OK. M.2 is sweet :)



#8 Ci7

Ci7

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-June 08
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iphone 5S

Posted 02 August 2014 - 17:11

Memory controller is located on the CPU, so there was never any chance of compatibility with older CPUs. Work on DDR4 spec hadn't been finished back when Socket R was being designed.

 

DDR4 is the key innovation (*cough*) here. Other stuff is what Z97 boards already have - M.2, SATA Express, native USB 3.0 all around and quite probably Realtek ALC 1150 with a range of goodies (shielded layer, funny looking caps, swappable op-amps and -wow!- LED strip).

 

i don't believe even X99 would have all USB3 ports

 

would be mixture usb3/usb2

 

perhaps until skylake-E ? 



#9 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 02 August 2014 - 17:42

socket 2011-3

 

physically similar , but not backward compatible cause of different  electrical signal 

 

Cause they want you to buy a new mb everytime you buy a new cpu.



#10 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 August 2014 - 17:44

Cause they want you to buy a new mb everytime you buy a new cpu.

 

They didn't for socket 1150...



#11 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: hammerhead

Posted 02 August 2014 - 17:54

Cause they want you to buy a new mb everytime you buy a new cpu.

x79 had a few generations of cpus that worked fine



#12 OP Phouchg

Phouchg

    has stopped responding

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11

Posted 02 August 2014 - 17:56

i don't believe even X99 would have all USB3 ports

 

would be mixture usb3/usb2

 

Correct, my bad. It'll have 6 USB 3.0 ports, only now native to Wellsburg chipset rather than provided by a third-party. But I fully expect more being added.

I mean, if I'm not seeing it wrong in the picture up there, there's two USB 3.0 front panel headers (4 ports) on the board alone.

 

Cause they want you to buy a new mb everytime you buy a new cpu.

 

Sir, that is nonsense. See my comment above about DDR4. There's no physical space (nor any need whatsoever) to realise co-existance DDR3 and DDR4. And DDR4 is the main selling point of this platform - AMD will not have DDR4 till at least late next year.

 

Intel's once again using Xeon dies for their new desktop line, twelve core (Source (ocdrift.com)) at that. With little doubt, Haswell-EP Xeons with crazy amount of cores, will be compatible with desktop boards. This is not a gaming or layman platform. It is HEDT - serious workstations, home servers and show-boats. With that, I expect for 5970X or something to appear later when they get inevitable first release issues out of the way.



#13 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 02 August 2014 - 18:01

x79 had a few generations of cpus that worked fine

 

Dunno i don't follow hardware much but everytime i bought intel i had to buy a new mb to upgrade the cpu to a new gen.



#14 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 02 August 2014 - 18:03

Dunno i don't follow hardware much but everytime i bought intel i had to buy a new mb to upgrade the cpu to a new gen.

 

You should catch up on hardware, mate.



#15 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 02 August 2014 - 18:05

The motherboard is in black color?

 

If so, it is first time for me to see this.

 

I have seen the motherboards come in green, mostly.