Jump to content



Photo

Network Monitoring - Small Business


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 08 August 2014 - 02:55

Alrighty, when it comes to networks, I'm a bit of a novice, so I'll explain what I have and need as best I can.

 

 

ADSL2+ Connection, which has 4 computers attached via ethernet (1) and WiFi (3).

 

 

I believe with the systems we use here at work, they are all hogging too much bandwidth, and I'm looking for some program that I can use to monitor, and restrict bandwidth on the other computers, from my main office computer.

I'd prefer to be able to view and change everything from this PC.

Obviously I would prefer it to be free, but if it has cost, I'm sure I can convince the boss to pay for it.

 

Any suggestions would be good.  My router doesn't do this sort of thing, and I'm struggling to convince him to buy new hardware, so software based is the only solution I can really look at, at this stage.

Thanks for any help you can provide.




#2 AnotherITguy

AnotherITguy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: 'Merica
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Iphone 5C 16GB

Posted 08 August 2014 - 03:04

Well, glad you decided to poll the neowin collective... so here goes

 

 

Lets start with more details please, things like

 

1. What is the business running which you suspect is hogging up too much bandwidth

2. What is your down / upload speed

3. Is there a budget for this project?

 

Best regards,

 

AnotherITGuy



#3 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 08 August 2014 - 03:29

You could use PFSense for your routing and get bandwidth information:

https://doc.pfsense....bandwidth_usage

 

EDIT: I didn't think was out yet, but Spiceworks has http://www.spicework...ement-software/

 

ManageEngine has a free one, but not sure what is included in it versus the paid:

http://www.manageeng...AQ&gclsrc=aw.ds

 

PRTG is free for 10 sensors: (You need traffic going THROUGH this device if I remember right.  Or maybe just hooked to a HUB or a switch that will do port mirroring)

http://www.paessler.com/prtg

 

There are other ways, but they get a little complicated for setup:

http://cactiez.cactiusers.org/

 

Surely someone else will have good suggestions.



#4 OP Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 08 August 2014 - 03:47

Thanks for the response!

1.  I honestly am not sure, that's what part of this excercise is, to monitor what is going in and out.  It's possible that it's our VPN down to our head office, but it could be anything.  That's what I'm hoping to keep an eye on.  It's also possible that the issue is in that VPN and the connection to our head office, but unfortunately, they are very much a company that states "It's your end", so to be able to show them that it isn't, is a bonus.
 

2.  Downloads run around 15 - 20MB/s and uploads at around 600KB/s.

3.  No set budget, but the owner will spend as little as possible.  I reckon I will struggle to get $100.00 out of him!

 

 

Thanks again.



#5 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:33

Alrighty, when it comes to networks, I'm a bit of a novice, so I'll explain what I have and need as best I can.

 

 

ADSL2+ Connection, which has 4 computers attached via ethernet (1) and WiFi (3).

 

 

I believe with the systems we use here at work, they are all hogging too much bandwidth, and I'm looking for some program that I can use to monitor, and restrict bandwidth on the other computers, from my main office computer.

I'd prefer to be able to view and change everything from this PC.

Obviously I would prefer it to be free, but if it has cost, I'm sure I can convince the boss to pay for it.

 

Any suggestions would be good.  My router doesn't do this sort of thing, and I'm struggling to convince him to buy new hardware, so software based is the only solution I can really look at, at this stage.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

If you want a free and good looking diagrams, mrtg would be good for you needs and it can be used on both Linux and Windows. There are paid ones which have free versions as well but only like 10 sensors available if you don't purchase the full version.

 

Anyway, I would also recommend Observium (but just so you know they are VERY rude people even if you purchase the software and they have a free version and for questions you wont get an answer). I myself looking for something similar but we're looking for something pro. Take a look here as well



#6 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 08 August 2014 - 23:47

Going ot guess it's the horroble internet speeds, at work we require a minimum of 2 up for the VPN connection tto be fairly stable, but as soon as it drops under 2 it's disconnect central



#7 OP Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 13 August 2014 - 10:35

I managed to find a server list. After checking a few, it seems the server load is casuing the problem.

The server that head office state to use is running at around 90% in low peak times across our network.

When using another, it was running flawlessly at around 10% CPU.

I'm still going to setup a monitor. So thanks for the suggestions!

#8 JonnyLH

JonnyLH

    I say things.

  • Joined: 15-February 13
  • Location: UK
  • OS: W8, W7, WP8, iOS, Ubuntu
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 13 August 2014 - 10:39

Personally, I'd say the best and cheapest solution would be to turn a simple cheap Linux server into a Bastion box for the network. You could bump up security and use the tools which people have posted above.



#9 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 13 August 2014 - 11:03

I managed to find a server list. After checking a few, it seems the server load is casuing the problem.

The server that head office state to use is running at around 90% in low peak times across our network.

When using another, it was running flawlessly at around 10% CPU.

I'm still going to setup a monitor. So thanks for the suggestions!

Out of curiosity what monitoring are you going to choose?



#10 OP Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 13 August 2014 - 13:30

I'm going to give mrtg a go first.  If I don't like it, I will try some of the other suggestions.  :)



#11 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 13 August 2014 - 13:46

I'm going to give mrtg a go first.  If I don't like it, I will try some of the other suggestions.  :)

Good luck and update us how it goes.

 

MRTG Howto Linux

MRTG Howto Windows



#12 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 14 August 2014 - 22:35

This is the most simple mrtg install instructions that I have found. 

 

http://www.netmon.org/i-mrtg.htm



#13 Skiver

Skiver

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: UK, Reading

Posted 15 August 2014 - 08:51

Just wanted to thank everyone here for the help they have given to the OP, I've been asked to re-produce some bandwidth stat's for some software and of course no-one has a clue how it was done before and the person who did do it no longer works here so of course they can just give it to me and of course I'll be able to figure it out.

 

I'm sure all this will help me, so thanks!



#14 Walid W.

Walid W.

    I love Orcinus Orca

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-July 08
  • Location: Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • OS: Ubuntu, Debian, Backtrack 5r, Windows 7 & XP
  • Phone: iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4s & HTC One

Posted 26 August 2014 - 09:30

Skiver, let us know if you need more help.

 

OP, how did it go?