Jump to content



Photo

only 3.19GB ram usable out of 4GB

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#16 rsrcomp

rsrcomp

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-April 05
  • Location: Bakersfield, CA USA

Posted 16 August 2014 - 22:46

If you need the ISO this site has them.

 

2nd one down: Home Premium 64 bit.

 

IF THE KEY does not work call the Microsoft Activation # - Windows activation: (888) 571-2048

tell them it does not work with 64 bit they will give you a new one.

 

http://www.w7forums....ownloads.12325/

 

 




#17 spy beef

spy beef

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-November 04
  • Location: Burnaby, British Columbia

Posted 16 August 2014 - 23:15

32-bits of address space is limited to exactly 4 GB.
The problem is that the RAM is not the only thing that uses the address space. x86 (16, 32, 64) only has ONE address space. The first part of the address space is reserved for certain legacy functions as well as new standards. Devices with DMA function are directly mapped onto the space as well, such as graphics cards.
There is no fixed amount of address space that is used by RAM. If you add more devices that get mapped to the address space that you have, less RAM can be mapped onto that address space.

The amount of bytes that can fit into the address space is (bits^2)+1.

 

Excellent explanation.



#18 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 19 August 2014 - 13:50

You may be able to move up to 64-bit with Anytime upgrade:

 

http://windows.micro...anytime-upgrade

 

Here is a 64-bit for $130 -- depending on what you want to spend:

 

http://www.softwarek...-oem-dvd-x64bit

 

Here is a Windows product key/download for $88:

 

http://www.tek-micro...4-bit-download/

Actually, he should be able to crossgrade -  as long as the SKU (not the bitness) is identical, the key does not change.

Also, some PCs got hobbled due to BIOS quirks, despite being more than capable of swallowing 4+GB.

 

True story - my Mom's HP DC7600 (refurbished) came with 2 GB (eight DDR2 RAM slots) but has 5 GB onboard today.  The issues were twofold - when she bought it, four of the eight DIMM slots were populated with 512MB sticks (cheap), AND there was a BIOS bug which resulted in an address "hole" - which is why it came with XP32.  After updating the BIOS, I reinstalled Windows 7 x32 (which Mom's old PC was running), then crossgraded to 7 x64 (same key), and used the USMT to migrate her settings.  The crossgrade worked because she was also going to a larger HDD than her old one - a crossgrade requires an HDD the same size or larger.