Jump to content



Photo

Best Wireless Adapter for New Time Capsule (802.11ac)


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 16 August 2014 - 05:14

I've been digging all over and can't seem to find which adapter would be the best match.  I know the new Time Capsule uses three antennas for each band.  Can someone who has more experience and technical expertise help me out with this?  Its appreciated. =)  It doesn't matter if its USB or PCI Express.   Though PCI Express might be easier as each machine that will need these adapters has a slot available but not all has USB 3.0




#2 offroadaaron

offroadaaron

    root can touch you anywhere

  • Joined: 02-May 02
  • Location: Australia

Posted 16 August 2014 - 11:10

How close is the time capsule are you PC's? Same room?



#3 OP Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 16 August 2014 - 15:47

Different rooms.

#4 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 16 August 2014 - 15:59

Since you're dealing with AC WiFi I'd go for an Asus WiFi-AC PCI-Express thing.

 

Either that, or this one from Intel :http://www.intel.com...th-desktop.html

 

That 7260 is really good value and blazing fast. And you'll get some nice extras if your PC uses Intel graphics (Miracast etc).



#5 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 August 2014 - 00:42

I got the http://www.asus.com/...orking/PCEAC68/ for testing AC, and the http://www.dlink.com...and-usb-adapter for test/play with AC on my unifi AC AP..

They both seem to work just fine. I got them for testing use only.. I wouldn't use either of them in day to day use - the usb is bulky and would be really awkward to use on a laptop device.

And anything that can use a card should be using a wire in the first place ;) I got it to test with 3x3 AC is all.. The machine its in is wired.. The card is not cheap - your better off spending the money to run a wire!!

I only got it so I would have a test device for 3x3 and the usb for moving about the house checking coverage, etc. And something to use on my laptop to sniff AC with, etc.

If your devices are stationary then they should be wired plan and simple. I would really really suggest wire over wireless if at all possible!! Even if you have to take the money you would spend on the AC card and hire someone to do it!

#6 OP Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 17 August 2014 - 03:04

I got the http://www.asus.com/...orking/PCEAC68/ for testing AC, and the http://www.dlink.com...and-usb-adapter for test/play with AC on my unifi AC AP..

They both seem to work just fine. I got them for testing use only.. I wouldn't use either of them in day to day use - the usb is bulky and would be really awkward to use on a laptop device.

And anything that can use a card should be using a wire in the first place ;) I got it to test with 3x3 AC is all.. The machine its in is wired.. The card is not cheap - your better off spending the money to run a wire!!

I only got it so I would have a test device for 3x3 and the usb for moving about the house checking coverage, etc. And something to use on my laptop to sniff AC with, etc.

If your devices are stationary then they should be wired plan and simple. I would really really suggest wire over wireless if at all possible!! Even if you have to take the money you would spend on the AC card and hire someone to do it!

Well running ethernet throughout the house isn't an option.  I do have wireless and have a MoCA network setup as well.  I thought about putting an adapter in a room where 2 of the 3 machines are at and use ethernet in that situation and get a good adapter for the third.   I'm debating on that.



#7 OP Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 17 August 2014 - 04:32

Well running ethernet throughout the house isn't an option.  I do have wireless and have a MoCA network setup as well.  I thought about putting an adapter in a room where 2 of the 3 machines are at and use ethernet in that situation and get a good adapter for the third.   I'm debating on that.

Ok, I meant to clarify that room with the two machines will have a MoCA adapter and could run ethernet from that and the third machine would use a good wireless adapter.



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:19

"Well running ethernet throughout the house isn't an option"

Why - I never understand this, because its not a valid answer. Running a wire is always and option.. Even if do not own the property, get permission and run it. All it can do is add value to the property.

If you don't know how to do it - then hire someone with the money you would spend on wireless, etc.

Your just never going to see the performance you would with a wireless that you will with wire - plan and simple..

#9 OP Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 17 August 2014 - 13:51

"Well running ethernet throughout the house isn't an option"

Why - I never understand this, because its not a valid answer. Running a wire is always and option.. Even if do not own the property, get permission and run it. All it can do is add value to the property.

If you don't know how to do it - then hire someone with the money you would spend on wireless, etc.

Your just never going to see the performance you would with a wireless that you will with wire - plan and simple..

 

Because quite simply, its a cost issue and a landlord issue.  All that cost to wire the house for three PCs in question isn't enough reason to justify the cost and the dealing with the landlord about it.  I know it is an "option" per se, it just isn't one worth it to me at this point in time.  Wireless will suit my needs.  I was just wondering what adapter would be the best fit/best performance with the new AC Time Capsule.



#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 18 August 2014 - 00:56

Cost issue - cables is pennies per foot, the adapters to make it look nice on the wall is a couple of bucks..  Running the wire a few hours of time if your so inclined.  Even if you hire someone.. I can pretty much bet you can find someone for less that the cost of the adapter to run a wire.

 

The pce-ac68 I bought to play with is http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833320173 $97 at newegg

 

How many drops you need 1 - pretty sure you can get a drop for $100.  Now the property value just went up.. How is an email to your landlord, hey going to run cat 6 between rooms.  No cost to you - your property value went up, your welcome!

 

If your that set on wireless which will not be the speed you think its going to be ;)  All the numbers are hype and marketing - When my card shows 1300 the connected data rate, guess what its not close to that ;)  I see 500, but on my wire I see 900..