Jump to content



Photo

Poll: Should Windows 9/Threshold be X64 only?


  • Please log in to reply
182 replies to this topic

Poll: Should Windows 9/Threshold be X64 only?

This is a public poll. Other members will be able to see which options you chose

Should Windows 9/Threshold be X64 only?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 +d5aqoëp

d5aqoëp

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-October 07

Posted 17 August 2014 - 08:46

Explain your choice.

 

X64 Means no WOW or X86 Emulation layer. Pure 64bit where 32bit apps will not run.




#2 +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.6
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 17 August 2014 - 08:50

i voted yes: in my experience and from talks with windows users, they have at least a quad-core, 8GB ram, 2GB graphics to even use that tile-based piece of os fluently..... :ike:



#3 elenarie

elenarie

    Newbie .NET / game dev

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 23-March 14
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 920 Yellow

Posted 17 August 2014 - 08:53

NO. Surely you cannot be serious? That would simply destroy gaming on Windows.



#4 OP +d5aqoëp

d5aqoëp

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-October 07

Posted 17 August 2014 - 08:55

^^ absolutely valid point. But newer games are coming out with 64 bit support. But once the OS goes X64 only, game support will quickly catch up.



#5 Graimer

Graimer

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-October 04
  • Location: Norway
  • OS: Win8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 17 August 2014 - 08:58

It will never happend. The moment you kill 32bit software, you loose enterprise customers. There are lots of enterprise software(old software) that will never be compiled for 64bit and that costs way too much money to replace.



#6 virtorio

virtorio

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.10, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:03

Dropping WoW64? You've entered a new level of crazy.



#7 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:03

32-bit software does run on 64-bit Windows. It's 16-bit software which won't work. 



#8 virtorio

virtorio

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.10, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:05

32-bit software does run on 64-bit Windows. It's 16-bit software which won't work. 

Not without the WoW64 layer.



#9 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:08

Explain your choice.

 

X64 Means no WOW or X86 Emulation layer. Pure 64bit where 32bit apps will not run.

A version of Windows that runs hardly any apps?  Great.

 

I'd love a 64 bit only release, but not with that restriction.



#10 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:09

Not without the WoW64 layer.

Ah, I did not see that part of the OP.

 

Win9 without WOW? That'd be silly.



#11 +-T-

-T-

    Trapmaster

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: Western Australia & Scotland

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:10

It should be x86_64 only but retain the WoW64 layer, otherwise it's go nowhere like the previous pure 64 bit windows

#12 Studio384

Studio384

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Update Pro
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8.1 Update

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:17

No, while most computers and laptops are 64bit nowadays, tablets aren't, you'll leave a lot of Windows tablets behind, and that wouldn't make a very good start.



#13 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:41

Ahh, another day, another public poll...

 

I think we still need both flavours for now.
 



#14 InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Win 8.1, OSX 10.10 & Ubuntu
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 17 August 2014 - 09:59

Not been able to run 32bit apps would be a big no, as someone else mentioned that basically kills all but the newest of PC games. Plus the majority of apps I have installed are 32bit only, with the exception of Microsoft Office and Photoshop.



#15 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 17 August 2014 - 10:07

I think like Server, WOW64 should be an optional (but enabled by default) feature.

 

If you're wanting to harden a client Windows installation, being able to remove WOW64 would be a great.