Jump to content



Photo

Battlefield 3 PC or Battlefield 4 PC ?

battlefield battlefield 4 battlefield 3

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Alley Cat

Alley Cat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-May 08
  • Location: Botswana

Posted 18 August 2014 - 07:56

I had the 7 day trail of Battlefield 4.  Its kinda fun, my first attempt at entering the Battlefield series.  However, I am plagued by mystery errors after getting kicked out of a game "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG"

Nice, I understand the error .....

 

This error kept happening, over and over.

 

I called the tech support, talked to a guy who is also in his mid 30s, we had a good laugh about the old 360kb and 1.2MB  Floppy Disks.  At the time, we figured my antivirus was causing lag as my HDD spins to scan game files being used. So, I disabled antivirus for 1 hour, play a sample game just fine.

 

Then, next game  "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG" error message.

 

Also, Why is the game fragmented into whatever web browser I have, and the game itself ?

 

Is Battlefield 3 this sucky too ?




#2 Tech085

Tech085

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-July 13
  • Location: Redneck Nation
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 18 August 2014 - 08:02

I had the 7 day trail of Battlefield 4.  Its kinda fun, my first attempt at entering the Battlefield series.  However, I am plagued by mystery errors after getting kicked out of a game "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG"

Nice, I understand the error .....

 

This error kept happening, over and over.

 

I called the tech support, talked to a guy who is also in his mid 30s, we had a good laugh about the old 360kb and 1.2MB  Floppy Disks.  At the time, we figured my antivirus was causing lag as my HDD spins to scan game files being used. So, I disabled antivirus for 1 hour, play a sample game just fine.

 

Then, next game  "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG" error message.

 

Also, Why is the game fragmented into whatever web browser I have, and the game itself ?

 

Is Battlefield 3 this sucky too ?

you sound like the kind of person who never play battlefield and will never get through the game and complete it.



#3 blerk

blerk

    Banned User

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-December 10

Posted 18 August 2014 - 08:42

I had the 7 day trail of Battlefield 4.  Its kinda fun, my first attempt at entering the Battlefield series.  However, I am plagued by mystery errors after getting kicked out of a game "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG"

Nice, I understand the error .....

 

This error kept happening, over and over.

 

I called the tech support, talked to a guy who is also in his mid 30s, we had a good laugh about the old 360kb and 1.2MB  Floppy Disks.  At the time, we figured my antivirus was causing lag as my HDD spins to scan game files being used. So, I disabled antivirus for 1 hour, play a sample game just fine.

 

Then, next game  "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG" error message.

 

Also, Why is the game fragmented into whatever web browser I have, and the game itself ?

 

Is Battlefield 3 this sucky too ?

 

The web browser interface functions as a server browser and allows you to view stats, kits, friends, etc. It is actually kinda cool. If you're offline, you don't need to use the web interface to launch a single-player campaign. 

 

BF4 does not have the best reputation as a stable game, much more than BF3 (which itself had a bad reputation upon first launch). Assuming your internet connection is fine, perhaps repair the game in Origin and reinstall punkbuster? 



#4 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2014 - 08:48

So many games were crashing on my PC until I realized it was my overclock that was causing it (3570K 3.4 GHz @ 4.6 GHz).

 

Reducing the overclock to 4.2 GHz worked a treat.



#5 OP Alley Cat

Alley Cat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-May 08
  • Location: Botswana

Posted 18 August 2014 - 08:55

I played BF4 campaign for about 3 hours before jumping into multiplayer.  I know, since I am new, I knew I would not be a kick ass player yet.  This is a learning curve, I used to play Counter Strike: GO

I went looking for team mates who would be willing to work as a team.  Then I crashed many helicopters .....

 

As far as I can tell, the browser plugin is also REQUIRED for Campaign.

 

And naturally, my hatred for Call of Duty is MASSIVE.



#6 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 18 August 2014 - 08:56

I played BF4 campaign for about 3 hours before jumping into multiplayer.  I know, since I am new, I knew I would not be a kick ass player yet.  This is a learning curve, I used to play Counter Strike: GO

I went looking for team mates who would be willing to work as a team.  Then I crashed many helicopters .....

 

As far as I can tell, the browser plugin is also REQUIRED for Campaign.

 

And naturally, my hatred for Call of Duty is MASSIVE.

There is no cause for hatred of a game. Just don't play it/them.



#7 blerk

blerk

    Banned User

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-December 10

Posted 18 August 2014 - 09:37

I played BF4 campaign for about 3 hours before jumping into multiplayer.  I know, since I am new, I knew I would not be a kick ass player yet.  This is a learning curve, I used to play Counter Strike: GO

I went looking for team mates who would be willing to work as a team.  Then I crashed many helicopters .....

 

As far as I can tell, the browser plugin is also REQUIRED for Campaign.

 

And naturally, my hatred for Call of Duty is MASSIVE.

 

Oh you will crash many helicopters and jets in any Battlefield game before you become proficient at flying them. Also - avoid all trees at all costs. Those things will hunt you down :p

 

I'm not too sure if the browser plugin is required for a campaign - if you are not connected to the internet, the browser never launches and the plugin is not required - but I'm not too sure about this. 



#8 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 18 August 2014 - 11:34

There is no cause for hatred of a game. Just don't play it/them.

Oh there is if you had followed the series from its beginning and had seen it gradually turned into a streamlined console-ported mess.

 

On topic: Between BF3 and BF4, I'd choose Bad Company 2.



#9 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 20 August 2014 - 16:41

I had the 7 day trail of Battlefield 4.  Its kinda fun, my first attempt at entering the Battlefield series.  However, I am plagued by mystery errors after getting kicked out of a game "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG"

Nice, I understand the error .....

 

This error kept happening, over and over.

 

I called the tech support, talked to a guy who is also in his mid 30s, we had a good laugh about the old 360kb and 1.2MB  Floppy Disks.  At the time, we figured my antivirus was causing lag as my HDD spins to scan game files being used. So, I disabled antivirus for 1 hour, play a sample game just fine.

 

Then, next game  "OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG" error message.

I'd recommend updating Punkbuster manually, as it's been the cause of many a mystery crash for me.



#10 Island Dog

Island Dog

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-April 04
  • Location: St. Cloud, FL.

Posted 21 August 2014 - 20:54

In BF4, they have a test range where you can practice with vehicles.  You can find it in Battlelog.



#11 xrobwx

xrobwx

    Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-June 03
  • Location: Panama City Beach, FL USA
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note II

Posted 21 August 2014 - 21:27

OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG sounds like a Chrome error?

 

Try Internet Explorer to launch Battlelog.

Download the proper punkbuster for your system and update it with this.

http://www.evenbalan...age=pbsetup.php

 

If you get the Directx error. Navigate to this folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 4 \__Installer\directx\redis­t"

and double click the DXsetup.exe and follow the prompts. That fixed my dx error I was experiencing.

I have had many hours of enjoyment playing BF4. The errors were few and far between for me. I experience no lag even on higher ping servers.



#12 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 27 August 2014 - 03:26

OOPS! SOMETHING WENT WRONG sounds like a Chrome error?

 

Try Internet Explorer to launch Battlelog.

Download the proper punkbuster for your system and update it with this.

http://www.evenbalan...age=pbsetup.php

 

If you get the Directx error. Navigate to this folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 4 \__Installer\directx\redis­t"

and double click the DXsetup.exe and follow the prompts. That fixed my dx error I was experiencing.

I have had many hours of enjoyment playing BF4. The errors were few and far between for me. I experience no lag even on higher ping servers.

Actually, I prefer Firefox/Waterfox for the BF franchise (basically, BF1942 and up, which all use BattleLog - I got BF1942 during a previous Origin promotion, and got BF3 via OTH in June).

 

Agreed on PunkBuster - it should be updated outside the game, and manually.



#13 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 27 August 2014 - 03:50

No issues whatsoever using IE to launch the BattleLog service. (Recommended)

Agreed that PB should be updated manually just to be safe!



#14 watsxn

watsxn

    Marketing/Graphic design/tech support

  • Joined: 22-May 02
  • Location: pinceton wv
  • OS: windows 8.1
  • Phone: windows phone 8.1, Lumia Icon

Posted 27 August 2014 - 05:59

both! you can get cheap.



#15 xrobwx

xrobwx

    Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-June 03
  • Location: Panama City Beach, FL USA
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note II

Posted 27 August 2014 - 17:09

Actually, I prefer Firefox/Waterfox for the BF franchise (basically, BF1942 and up, which all use BattleLog - I got BF1942 during a previous Origin promotion, and got BF3 via OTH in June).

 

Agreed on PunkBuster - it should be updated outside the game, and manually.

Firefox is fine if your not having problems with it. Also, Battlelog doesn't work with any 64bit browser yet. I had to use IE 32bit and it works perfectly.