Jump to content



Photo

Internet keeps getting Disconnected & Reconnected


15 replies to this topic

#1 dan99t

dan99t

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 22 August 2014 - 03:00

Hi,

I have an Internet connection thru a Phone company which uses DSL modem to connect.

For past few weeks my net connection keeps getting disconnected for few seconds & it reconnects automatically.

I asked the service provider & they checked & even replaced some wires but of no help.

Funny thing is that sometimes there seems to be a rhythm where it disconnects for an average of 13 seconds or so plus or minus few seconds, for hours at a time.

 

I have attached the Log of it.

Thanks

Attached Images

  • Log.png
  • Log - 2.png



#2 Rohdekill

Rohdekill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 05
  • Location: Earth

Posted 22 August 2014 - 03:07

Is there a question or are you just letting us know?



#3 Shiranui

Shiranui

    Iconoclast

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-December 03

Posted 22 August 2014 - 03:10

Don't worry, it is just me doing a little hackin'
I'll stop once I've finished cloning your company's server.

In the mean time, check your cables and modems.

#4 AMPSV

AMPSV

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-September 03
  • Location: Sol 3

Posted 22 August 2014 - 04:23

sounds like a faulty modem or a power supply that keeps cutting out



#5 OP dan99t

dan99t

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 22 August 2014 - 05:12

Checked the wiring several times for several days. Does not solve the problem.

 

Checked the power supply too. Nothing wrong with it.

 

Don't know how to check modem.



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 95
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 August 2014 - 11:17

Call your ISP.. Where is that log?



#7 xrobwx

xrobwx

    Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-June 03
  • Location: Panama City Beach, FL USA
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note II

Posted 22 August 2014 - 11:44

Checked the wiring several times for several days. Does not solve the problem.

 

Checked the power supply too. Nothing wrong with it.

 

Don't know how to check modem.

Unplug the modem 10 seconds or so and plug it back in and/or get them to replace the modem.

Unplug the modem, call ISP, lie to them about it being unplugged, let them do their connectivity test, Ask for new modem.  :)

<waits for Budman to actually solve this problem>  :D



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 95
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 August 2014 - 12:03

I would love to solve the problem - but there is not one thing to go on.  I don't even know where that log is..  Is that from his modem/router is that something he created on his machine?  What?  I have never seen such a log to even take a guess to where its from.

 

What is the make of his modem/router?  The device from his isp.. Is his computer directly connected to this device? Does he loose his local IP to the modem/router or just the actual internet connection from the isp device, etc. etc..

 

This is why I suggest he call his isp.. From the lack of info given there is nothing to be done on this end.



#9 OP dan99t

dan99t

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 23 August 2014 - 03:56

I would love to solve the problem - but there is not one thing to go on.  I don't even know where that log is..  Is that from his modem/router is that something he created on his machine?  What?  I have never seen such a log to even take a guess to where its from.

 

What is the make of his modem/router?  The device from his isp.. Is his computer directly connected to this device? Does he loose his local IP to the modem/router or just the actual internet connection from the isp device, etc. etc..

 

This is why I suggest he call his isp.. From the lack of info given there is nothing to be done on this end.

 

Anything everything you need BudMan, I will try to answer to the best of my knowledge.

 

This log is generated by a chat program. By accident I learnt that when I am in this chat room, if net goes down, it gives me the message server off Line. After posting yesterday, net worked fine most of the day but then last night around 01:10 AM it started again & since I left that chat program run all night, it generated another Log. I am attaching it.

 

Modem make & Model : ZTE, ZXDSL 531B ( Made in China ) Provided by Phone company. It is about 6 years old now.

 

Phone line goes into Modem & Modem is directly connected to computer. They gave me a splitter so I can use Phone as well as net but then I thought the splitter might be causing this so I removed the splitter. So now phone line to Modem & Modem directly connected to computer.

 

Your question "  Does he loose his local IP to the modem/router or just the actual internet connection from the isp device, etc. etc.." is tough to answer but I have started monitoring it.

 

Here it is :

 

Modem has 3 lights. (1) Red is Power & stays on all the time (2) Yellow light is DSL & goes down when net goes down (3) Green is Internet. which keeps blinking when net is working & goes down when net goes down. First I observed that when net goes down power light stays on so power is not the problem. Also it takes few seconds for chat to show if net is down in other words I noticed that net goes down & Yellow DSL Light goes down as well as Green Internet light goes down then few seconds later I see a in Chat Log that net is down.

 

Frequency is totally random. It worked fine till 01:00 AM after I posted this post & then all night from 01:00 AM to 09:00 AM it goes down every few minutes.

 

I don't know how to attach Log files to this reply which will show you what went on all night. Can you tell me how so I can give you more logs ?

 

This problem comes & goes for last year or so and I have called my ISP several times & they came out & checked at teir end & couple of times replaced the wiring coming to my PC. Sometimes problem goes away & other times don't.

 

I have a question. Could it be NIC ? It is Dell T-7500 workstation & under warranty & has built in NIC, right ? So if that is the case, can you or Dell Identify that NIC is the problem ?

 

Does this help ?



#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 95
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 August 2014 - 11:58

"Could it be NIC"

 

This is why I asked where the log was from -- that is from your client talking to something on the internet..  So for all you know the internet is still up but you can not talk to your routers IP..

 

And that is not  "modem"  its a router ZXDSL 531B - has wireless does it not, that I take it your not using. If it does NAT it is not a gawd damn modem ;)  Its a gateway!!  Wish this makers would stop calling their devices what they are NOT..

 

Anyway you need to start a ping to your routers IP..  you can find this with ipconfig

 

C:\>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.253

 

Now setup a ping to that with -t so it continues to run

 

So

ping.png

 

you can stop it with control C (cntrl+C at the same time) and it will give you some stats on if any missed, etc.  Let this run while your loosing internet in your chat program.  Does this fail?

 

Also how do you know the chat server just didn't go down?  Can you connect to your gateway and does it show you what your isp gateway is?  If not try a traceroute

 

trace.png

 

Now the hop where it changes from private to public address normall hop 2 wold be your isp gateway.  This is the first connection to your isp.. Get a ping -t going with that.. Do you loose that connection when your "internet" goes down?

 

pinggateway.png

 

Again how do you know actual internet is down.. Could be issue with just your chat program?  Lets see what these ping test show..  Can you access your ZTE, ZXDSL 531B does it have any logs? Events?  The log from your irc program is pretty much useless so no reason to post.. We get it your connection is intermittent, etc.

 

Also could you post the output of your ipconfig /all -- I want to see what your dhcp lease time is.  If its really short maybe its your lease having problems renewing?

dhcplease1.png

 

 

 

 



#11 OP dan99t

dan99t

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 24 August 2014 - 06:44

"Could it be NIC"

 

This is why I asked where the log was from -- that is from your client talking to something on the internet..  So for all you know the internet is still up but you can not talk to your routers IP..

 

And that is not  "modem"  its a router ZXDSL 531B - has wireless does it not, that I take it your not using. If it does NAT it is not a gawd damn modem ;)  Its a gateway!!  Wish this makers would stop calling their devices what they are NOT..

 

Anyway you need to start a ping to your routers IP..  you can find this with ipconfig

 

C:\>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.253

 

Now setup a ping to that with -t so it continues to run

 

So

attachicon.gifping.png

 

you can stop it with control C (cntrl+C at the same time) and it will give you some stats on if any missed, etc.  Let this run while your loosing internet in your chat program.  Does this fail?

 

Also how do you know the chat server just didn't go down?  Can you connect to your gateway and does it show you what your isp gateway is?  If not try a traceroute

 

attachicon.giftrace.png

 

Now the hop where it changes from private to public address normall hop 2 wold be your isp gateway.  This is the first connection to your isp.. Get a ping -t going with that.. Do you loose that connection when your "internet" goes down?

 

attachicon.gifpinggateway.png

 

Again how do you know actual internet is down.. Could be issue with just your chat program?  Lets see what these ping test show..  Can you access your ZTE, ZXDSL 531B does it have any logs? Events?  The log from your irc program is pretty much useless so no reason to post.. We get it your connection is intermittent, etc.

 

Also could you post the output of your ipconfig /all -- I want to see what your dhcp lease time is.  If its really short maybe its your lease having problems renewing?

attachicon.gifdhcplease1.png

 

Hi BudMan,

 

First I want to Thank You for taking time & going into so much tech details. Everyone on this board admires you & are your fans because when nobody can help you, you are The Man.

 

But my tech knowledge is so limited that when it comes to opening a DOS window, I get a panic attack because I grew up when there were no PCs. So I am not able to do the tasks you suggested with Screenshots.

 

But I can tell you in laymen's language what I am going thru.

 

First it is not just the chat program which identifies that my net is down. I simultaneously run other stock market programs which gibes me live prices & those programs stop giving me price updates so I know that my net is down. Then if I open the browser & google window & if that doesn't open Google homepage, I know my net is down. Then if I can not open my Gmail or Yahoo mail, I know that my net is down. All these windows are open simultaneously so it is not just the chat client that goes down but my net is down. Besides both my DSL yellow light & Green Internet lights go off. So Am I correct to say that my net is down ?

 

Next, you are right. I have a wifi antenna but I am using Ethernet cable to connect to my computer. And my instrument has a Phone line in plus power & 4 other outlets which enables me to connect to 4 computers. So do I have a Modem & Router in one ?

 

Next, I removed the splitter which enabled me to have a separate line for broadband & a phone line & thus connecting my phone line directly to Modem/Router & identifying that it is not the splitter causing the problem.

 

So how do I proceed from here ?



#12 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 24 August 2014 - 08:28

left field idea....do you have a dsl filter on the phone line to the modem/router?  it could be going bad but i think like the others do you should call your isp and get them to replace your modem/router



#13 OP dan99t

dan99t

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 24 August 2014 - 09:24

Unplug the modem 10 seconds or so and plug it back in and/or get them to replace the modem.

Unplug the modem, call ISP, lie to them about it being unplugged, let them do their connectivity test, Ask for new modem.  :)

<waits for Budman to actually solve this problem>  :D

 My Gawd, 121 Mbps ? You are in Heaven or I would be. I am paying thru my nose for 2.0 Mbps & getting actually 1.0 Mbps.

 

How much are you paying & is there a download limit ? Just curious.

 

Thanks



#14 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 95
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 August 2014 - 12:06

"both my DSL yellow light & Green Internet lights go off."

 

There is nothing to be done other than call the ISP then, have them replace the modem, etc. If your saying your "modem" shows no internet -- there is nothing you can do on your side of the modem to fix that - sorry.  Or switch to different isp that will provide you with stable service.

 

As to not running command in cmd prompt..  You need to get over that ;)

 

Do run, cmd -- in that black box type ipconfig /all -- its just showing you info is all ;)



#15 OP dan99t

dan99t

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 26 August 2014 - 13:24

"both my DSL yellow light & Green Internet lights go off."

 

There is nothing to be done other than call the ISP then, have them replace the modem, etc. If your saying your "modem" shows no internet -- there is nothing you can do on your side of the modem to fix that - sorry.  Or switch to different isp that will provide you with stable service.

 

As to not running command in cmd prompt..  You need to get over that ;)

 

Do run, cmd -- in that black box type ipconfig /all -- its just showing you info is all ;)

 

I will Budman.

 

I have contacted my isp.

 

Many Thanks for your kind help & everyone else.