Jump to content



Photo

Rectangles around sections?

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 25 August 2014 - 17:12

I know this site just switched, but why am I seeing rectangles around sections? The title bar, the ad, the main body, etc..

 

This is in IE11

Attached Images

  • Capture.PNG


Best Answer Steven P. , 29 August 2014 - 07:36

This was fixed (bad ad)

Go to the full post



#2 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 26
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 25 August 2014 - 17:13

Seems like a border or outline css issue.



#3 ians18

ians18

    Where Unprofessional Commenting Looks Better.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 17-May 12
  • Location: On The Blue Marble
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 9879, Windows 8.1 August update, OSX Yoesmite
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 Update (Dev) & "Lumia Cyan" Firmware

Posted 25 August 2014 - 17:14

Could have to do with ads again.



#4 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 25 August 2014 - 17:17

Looks like in Orion.min.css the container class has a 1px border set, and all those sections are in div's that have the container css style applied to them



#5 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 25 August 2014 - 19:04

Looks like in Orion.min.css the container class has a 1px border set, and all those sections are in div's that have the container css style applied to them

 

I do not see this hmm, still think its the ads.



#6 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 26 August 2014 - 11:50

it might be, but the CSS profiler said it was in orion.min.css

 

but look at what it looks like in chrome for me today? actually does match the ad

Attached Images

  • Capture.PNG


#7 OP vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 26 August 2014 - 13:53

Definitely an ad css issue now that I had a little bit of time to look at it, the ads are using a class "container" which is the same class you guys are using now... so it's merging the CSS to include the border on all the container elements.... might need to add a 0px border to the container class with !important to override it or change the css class name?



#8 duoi

duoi

    Resident Superhero

  • Joined: 17-February 14
  • OS: Elementary OS, Windows 8.1.1

Posted 26 August 2014 - 14:10

Probably the best solution is to rename the offending class names..

#9 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 29 August 2014 - 07:36   Best Answer

This was fixed (bad ad)