• This topic is locked This topic is locked
61 replies to this topic

#1 ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

Graphic Designer

• 2,848 posts
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925 (T-Mobile)

Posted 27 August 2014 - 22:40

So I'm not really a fan of the new Neowin website. I feel like there is a lot of design work that needs to be fix and improve. Lucky for me I do design website for a living(partly). I'm not done with the home page yet but I'm going to give you some screenshots until I'm finish and show all the pages.

Screen Shot 2014-08-27 at 6.37.34 PM.png

#2 +Nik L

Nik L

Where's my pants?

• 34,385 posts

Posted 27 August 2014 - 22:43

No thanks, it's a mess - it's genuinely awkward to even look at.

#3 nosense

nosense

Neowinian

• 307 posts

Posted 27 August 2014 - 22:50

The concept Look's worse, the new layout is fine. It's not like they bought a WP theme and called it a day...

#4 Max Norris

Max Norris

Neowinian Senior

• 5,168 posts
  • Phone: HTC One (Work) Lumia 1020 (Home)

Posted 27 August 2014 - 22:52

Just my opinion, but not a fan of trying to read something sideways. Probably not the only one who'd just scroll past it as a guess.. it's supposed to draw your eyes right to it as a focal point, and being hard to read negates that. Probably worse on a tablet, turn your tablet sideways to try and read it and then the thing keeps re-adjusting itself.. get in an endless loop of spinny-tablet-syndrome.

#5 ians18

ians18

Where Unprofessional Commenting Looks Better.

• 1,656 posts
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 9901, Windows 8.1 August update, OSX Yoesmite
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 Update (Dev) & "Lumia Cyan" Firmware

Posted 27 August 2014 - 22:55

Your concept has too many distinct bars and lines. Ugly and unnecessary boxes surrounding the comments and author. Sorry.  

#6 Grinch

Grinch

Developer

• 1,677 posts
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 August 2014 - 22:56