Jump to content



Photo

Can Dimension E521 Support more than 4 GB of Memory?

dell pc dimension

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2 Windows 8.1 Up1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 01 September 2014 - 03:45

I am redoing a machine which is an E521 and was wondering if more than 4GB supported? I know the Intel Based E520 with right BIOS update can support up to 8 GB.

Either way I found this for now if it only supports 4GB

http://www.newegg.co...1-120-_-na-_-na




#2 Ian W

Ian W

    Neowinian Werewolf

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-March 13
  • OS: Windows Vista

Posted 01 September 2014 - 05:28

I am redoing a machine which is an E521 and was wondering if more than 4GB supported? I know the Intel Based E520 with right BIOS update can support up to 8 GB.

Either way I found this for now if it only supports 4GB

http://www.newegg.co...1-120-_-na-_-na

There doesn't seem to be a clear answer to your question . . . Page 107 of the Dell Owner Manual for the E521 states that the maximum amount of supported memory is 4 GB. However, on another forum, some owners have reported that they have successfully installed over 4 GB, while others have stated that they were not so lucky. So I would say that it depends on your configuration . . .



#3 OP flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2 Windows 8.1 Up1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 01 September 2014 - 10:23

Thanks. I have done a lot of research and yes some say it can go over 4 others no. For now I am going to stick with 4 to play it safe and down the line I will see about going over 4 for testing.



#4 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 05 September 2014 - 10:16

You'll likely find with Dell that there's more than one motherboard revision during the lifecycle of the product, hence people getting different results.