New to C++, questions on the differences of C++

Question

I just started learning C++ but I am not new to programming. I am reading some tutorials online and I have noticed some differences in, I assume, different versions of C++ and I just need some help understanding them.

Online I noticed some tutorials use "cout" and others use "std::cout".  Is the std:: the newer version of the language? Does this effect backwards compatibility or different operating systems?

I am using the latest Visual Studio Express from Microsoft to code my applications. For C++ projects, I can create a CLR project or a win32 console application.  From what I've read online, CLR uses .NET. This would not make the program run on Linux and and Mac right? How can I compile code to run on Win,Linux, and Mac? Is it more difficult to do than just Win? And I don't mean changing the code to deal with file paths (for example), I mean in more compiler sense (If that makes sense).

When I compile my win32 console application, is it compiled in a way so that it will only run on Windows? (Even if I don't use any windows specific code. What if it was just a hello world application?)

std::cout << "Thanks for the help!";

Have you tried running hello world without explicitly using std:: ?

I'm pretty sure std is part of the iostream and I'm also pretty sure :: is a namespace operator.

I should learn more about C++ before I make more assumptions to try and help you, lol.

The only way you would do that is if you used this:

using namespace std;

Which most people frown upon.

The "std" prefix is the standard C++ library.  The fact that some tutorials omit it, is that they are using precisely the line above to shorten things, or just imply that it is being used simply to save typing up the tutorial.

using namespace std;

Ah there you go. So I was incorrect about std being a part of iostream. Which logically makes sense and I don't know why I said it.

C++ makes you think crazy things.