Vinyl Discussion

I thought I would make this topic to continue a discussion about Vinyl that DirtyLarry and I started here. I copied Larry's post:

... a lot of the old stuff amazingly is getting reissued, and usually costs about $20-$25, and the really cool part is a lot of the releases are also including a digital download.

It is no doubt more expensive than CD's or going digital, but there are three things that make it worth it for me...
1) The Intimacy - Just the experience of putting a record on the record player and lowering the needle means it is a much, much more intimate experience. It makes the music mean that much more. I realize this can sound kind of out there, but it really is true. When you play a record, you are taking steps to play it. It is an overall experience.
2) Album Cover Art. Even better is when they include an album insert, which is usually the lyrics. As an artist myself, I really, really appreciate both of these aspects, and they are really becoming a lost art form. IMHO There is nothing quite look a well designed album cover.
3) The sound really is as pure as it gets.

Really it all comes down to one thing though. I grew up with records, and I miss it. It is no doubt me reliving my youth.

What really got me back into it is I found my old record collection in my parents basement about 6 months ago. I also found my record player. All I needed was a new belt and needle, which both cost me $18 total on eBay. I was back up and running.

Since then I have purchased about 30 new records in addition to the 50 or so I already had. Probably spent about $400 total. I view it like anything else I collect. In fact I just got a new record in the mail today. The new Primus album where they do Willy Wonka. It included a digital download, was $20, and came in chocolate vinyl.

I already have the new Foo Fighters album coming out in November preordered on Vinyl. That is awesome.