Jump to content



Photo

PC Gaming - 'press any key' or 'click to continue'

pc video games gaming discussion console dragon age: inquisition

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Osiris

Osiris

    Neowinian God!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-October 01
  • Location: Australia
  • OS: WIndows 8.2
  • Phone: Nokia 930

Posted 24 November 2014 - 08:36

Hey all,

 

Anyone else feel when you load a PC game and it asks you to 'press any key to continue' or 'click to continue' before it gets to the main screen, that you are in for a console port that hasn't even been personalised for the pc?

 

I get why consoles do it, from things like certification, requirements to a way to detect what controller is in use etc but its just unnecessary and bad user experience on the PC..by virtue of the user navigating and running your exe they have indicated they want to play your game, your job should be to get them to the main screen so they can enjoy your content as quick as you can, not leave them looking at a logo or some animation waiting for user input unnecessarily.  I've felt this way for a while as its happening with so many games now but Dragon Age Inquisition bugs me the most the way after you click it then spends another 5 odd seconds checking and connecting to servers (before the main screen)...why couldn't you have done that while you were waiting for me to click?

 

Obviously a very minor thing /whinge over, just curious to see if anyone feels or has thought the same as im starting to see it as a warning flag for standard console port now

 




#2 elenarie

elenarie

    Newbie .NET / game dev

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 23-March 14
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 920 Yellow

Posted 24 November 2014 - 08:50

Still better than "press F to feel". Also, EA have been doing this since forever with all of their games. Doesn't make it less stupid, but it is nothing new.



#3 OP Osiris

Osiris

    Neowinian God!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-October 01
  • Location: Australia
  • OS: WIndows 8.2
  • Phone: Nokia 930

Posted 24 November 2014 - 08:54

Still better than "press F to feel". Also, EA have been doing this since forever with all of their games. Doesn't make it less stupid, but it is nothing new.

 

Hrmm you might be right just feels like something that's just started happening more and more as now more than ever you have games being built for console and just ported over.  Maybe I've incorrectly associated it with console ports then.



#4 AwayfromHere

AwayfromHere

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-January 12
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z3

Posted 24 November 2014 - 09:19

Hrmm you might be right just feels like something that's just started happening more and more as now more than ever you have games being built for console and just ported over.  Maybe I've incorrectly associated it with console ports then.

 

You're not. A very very big part of PC games are just lousy console ports these days. Devs are blaming piracy for that but I'm not really sure. Just time, money and publishers pushing things too fast.



#5 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 24 November 2014 - 10:10

Don't they do this to detect if you are using a controller? On some of the games I have, if I press a key on the keyboard it changes the controls to PC controls and if I press a button on the controller it changes the controls to the controller ones.



#6 Slarlac249

Slarlac249

    Conquest FTW!

  • Joined: 25-June 02
  • Location: UK

Posted 25 November 2014 - 11:17

007 Legends

 

press a bunch of keys to punch some guy.

 

Quantum of Solace

 

clicking mouse at the right moment to punch some guy.

 

 

poor quality. QTE's are worse than Press Enter to start.

 

Far Cry 3 had some boring QTE's and so did NFS The Run with it's pointless on foot sections.

 

 

You know it's a proper pc release when;

 

no press enter to start

no qte's

it has plenty of video options