[Buyers Guide?] Software Development Laptop

Hello all, it has been several years since I have been in this part of the forum.

I am in my last semester to get my associates degree in computer science and will be pursuing my BS in the same. It is time for me to buy a new laptop, but am having a lot of trouble finding anything worth buying under $1200. 

My requirements are (yes it is demanding for the price):

Dedicated graphics card (I sometimes play video games, rarely).

Minimum upgradable ram to 16GB

Good quality laptop, with good warranty.

15 inch display, possibly full HD.

Windows 7 pre-installed or downgradable.

It is hard to find a laptop now a day that comes with a dedicated graphics card under $1000 and the brands I have looked at is Lenovo, HP, Dell, and Asus. I have been leaning toward a Dell M2800 Mobile Workstation, but would like to find something cheaper.

I know there are millions of threads here asking what laptop people should get, but I figured I'd start another one anyway.

Bumped after 9 hours?... give people a chance to answer it.

Do you really need a dedicated graphics card? Intel Iris graphics are more than capable.

Bumped after 9 hours?... give people a chance to answer it.

Do you really need a dedicated graphics card? Intel Iris graphics are more than capable.

I prefer dedicated graphics as I have a a bad taste from intel graphics.

One word. Clevo. A taiwanese company but their laptops are solid. Sold under brands like Sager, and NovaTech. I still use my 4 year old Core2Quad M571 with GTX280M, she's still playing games after all this time :)

• Like 1

One word. Clevo. A taiwanese company but their laptops are solid. Sold under brands like Sager, and NovaTech. I still use my 4 year old Core2Quad M571 with GTX280M, she's still playing games after all this time :)