Cisco 2901 With ISDN/PSTN

Has anyone in Cisco land set up a router to route voice calls across an ISDN or PSTN line?

I have a EHWIC card and I have never done this before.

Has anyone got a good simple guide I can follow?

Why would you do that?  t1 at least...but I would be bringing in cheap internet access to do that 5Mb up or better.  I haven't touched that in 10+ years, I don't even know where my configs would be from that install.

Are you using some sort of hybrid voip setup?  This is what I used to be able to connect two offices together way back when.  Digital phones system ---voip device think like modem ----router---mpls/isdn/t1----router---voip device like modem----digital phone system

I would guess this is what you are attempting

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/ios/12_2/voice/configuration/guide/fvvfax_c/vvfisdn.html

BTW, I pay roughly $10 a voip phone at each desk with 4 lines at each phone...unlimited calling in the us.  This is a hosted PBX setup by vonage business.  I do need to supply internet access on top of that.  We have a 200/200 line that we share internet with phones, though physically segmented.

Like I said, I would not be using a ISDN for this at all.  ISDN is what 128K?  I wouldn't trust that with phones, I don't care how much or little you expect to use.  Full t1 barely supported 10 phones...that is 1.5Mb/s...when the phones rang the line would get saturated to the point of being unusable.  The call itself was fine, provided that another phone didn't ring..once the phone rang the call was disconnected.

Turns out I actually have NO idea how to set this up.

I have some ip phones which get addresses and extensions. Fine. Can call between them. No idea how to route those calls out of the ISDN line connected to the BRI interface.

hmmmmmmmm

Anyone got any ideas on this,

Say I have

ISDN Provided by XYZ, It has a number (Connected to BRI)

Say for testing I want to map ext 3001 to this number.