Building a PowerPC

HI all,

I am a student from India and have been entrusted with task of designing a PowerPC based PC for a project.

I am a noob in this area and would require the help of gurus here to build it from scratch.

Please advice me on the same. Basically i need help in following areas :-

1. Understanding how does a Processor interacts with hardware i.e. how to program processor to take input from user. Will I have to learn assembly language or i can do it with C++?

2. How will i interface various hardware devices with PowerPC processor?

3.  Deciding on which Processor to choose and thereafter choosing its compatible hardware.

Please guide me and show me a path.

Waiting eagerly for your response.

Regards,

Ravish

Hi Nik,

Even I thought so or rather read so on a number of sites but its all confusing out there.

Can u atleast help me out with basics of building a PC around a processor.

regards

Well, after you locate a good PowerPC CPU, you then need to locate a motherboard.

Most of the designs are going to be based around macs I think, as they were using PowerPC but jumped to intel when IBM wouldn't let them have the fastest chips.

Once you find a motherboard that will hook up with your CPU, the rest is business as usual - a PSU, hard drive, and any other components you need.

You will probably be using a linux distro - so you are OK there.

Finding a case might be tough because macs were all proprietary - but the stainless powermac is an awesome case - might be too new though because that was after the jump to intel chips.... I think.

I dont know how easy it will be to source things in India - but you can figure that out.

As far as you specific questions - you dont need to know any of that - the programming language is already done - if you hook up the components they already know what they are and how to talk.

No programming will be needed - unless your project calls for "reinventing the wheel" which I doubt it does.