Cisco Dial Plans

Can someone explain to me how Dial Plans work. Presuming I am using the right terminology i.e Dial Plan.

I have created an extension range 1001,1002,1003 etc. I want to be dial internally by dialing the extension and that's it.

Then say I want to dial something externally, I want the user to dial 9 first. It then strips this out and calls the number externally.

I don't understand how this works at all....

Yeah I have read all the Cisco stuff I can find, It doesn't simplify it.

I have the ephone-dn set up. Fine that's OK. Essentially the extensions. They can dial between themselves internally.

What I want to happen is say when they dial a prefix or 9 (Or whatever) it routes the call out on to the PSTN (Via the Card/line)

I'm no expert but you need to start looking into Calling Search Spaces and Partitions in terms of who can call what as well as a Route Pattern/Trunk in terms of sending a call out over the PSTN to a voice gateway.

Basically what you would have is firstly two partitions, one for internal phones and one for external calls. You would then have a CSS in which I'm not sure if ordering would cause a massive difference.

Then you need to create the trunk that you use to send calls down to your Voice Gateway.

After that, create a Route Parttern, using the external access partition with a pattern of something like 9.X which basically says anything with a 9 send down this trunk and remember in the Called Party Transformations to do a predot discard digits (unless your VG needs it?).

That should get you somewhere closer at least from a very high level explanation. It might not be THE best way but it should work.

EDIT: Sorry, I have just wrote the above with a Call Manager in mind and then noticed ephone-dn, is this a Call Manager Express?

Sorry Yeah just using express. Its basically get a test phone system up bit by bit.