Jump to content



Photo

Why so many chrome instances?

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 xamadeix

xamadeix

    Keeper of the Pizza

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Parts Unknown
  • OS: WINDOZE
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 26 January 2015 - 23:41

OdLF5QI.png

 

Is this normal? If not.. Any suggestions? I haven't really kept up with the whole browser knowledge.. Tempted to go back to Firefox.



Best Answer +techbeck , 26 January 2015 - 23:45

OdLF5QI.png

 

Is this normal? If not.. Any suggestions? I haven't really kept up with the whole browser knowledge.. Tempted to go back to Firefox.

 

Cuz its setup to run in the background (if chrome is closed).  Look in your system tray and there is probably an icon there by the date/time.  Right click and there should be an option to not allow it to run.  Annoying but used for Google Docs/services run via Chrome.

 

If it is not in the systray, do the following...

 

  • Click on the Chrome menu (or press Alt+E)
  • Select Settings
  • Click on the link titled ‘Show advanced settings
  • Under the section headed ‘System‘ untick the box next to “Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed”
Go to the full post



#2 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 26 January 2015 - 23:45   Best Answer

OdLF5QI.png

 

Is this normal? If not.. Any suggestions? I haven't really kept up with the whole browser knowledge.. Tempted to go back to Firefox.

 

Cuz its setup to run in the background (if chrome is closed).  Look in your system tray and there is probably an icon there by the date/time.  Right click and there should be an option to not allow it to run.  Annoying but used for Google Docs/services run via Chrome.

 

If it is not in the systray, do the following...

 

  • Click on the Chrome menu (or press Alt+E)
  • Select Settings
  • Click on the link titled ‘Show advanced settings
  • Under the section headed ‘System‘ untick the box next to “Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed”


#3 Demz

Demz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-January 10
  • Location: Australia
  • OS: Fedora Linux
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 26 January 2015 - 23:47

OdLF5QI.png

 

Is this normal? If not.. Any suggestions? I haven't really kept up with the whole browser knowledge.. Tempted to go back to Firefox.   

every Tab is a New Process,  Firefox will eventually be the same, there working on it now a project called ( e10's Multiprocess ) http://forums.mozill...?f=23&t=2779793



#4 SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 26 January 2015 - 23:49

Yes, that's normal. Some sessions are tabs, some sessions are add-ons. 



#5 OP xamadeix

xamadeix

    Keeper of the Pizza

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Parts Unknown
  • OS: WINDOZE
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 26 January 2015 - 23:51

Aaah! Okay thank you! Btw, I do have background apps disabled.



#6 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 26 January 2015 - 23:53

Aaah! Okay thank you! Btw, I do have background apps disabled.

 

Then its normal.  I know people who use Google services and even when you close Chrome, it remains running in the background.  Wasnt sure if this was an issue when it was running, or closed.

 

 

And I believe DEMZ had the best answer here unless this issue was happening when Chrome was closed.