(school-related) Staring at the screens all day

I am a student and it seems that I spend way too much time staring at the screens. By 5 PM I am getting headache from looking at the screen.

And it's not that I am slacking off, but that most of the things I am expected to do for each class involve looking at screens. Do professors not give out papers anymore?  :angry:

Here's just a small list of things I do looking at the screen:

1. read lecture notes professors posted online

2. do homework online (MasteringPhysics, etc.)

3. read homework solutions professors posted online

4. read e-book (textbook) that I checkout from out library

5. do just about everything else for school

I am sorry that this post is sloppily written, but my eyes are so sore.

I don't know what to do, but everyday after 5:00 PM, I feel like my eyes want to pop from their sockets.

Well, I was thinking of getting an internet capable e-ink tablet.

Does anyone have experience with one and does it help with eyestrain?

I know that looking at the screen is bad for my eyes, but I don't have much of a choice.

Taking a break for your eyes is key. Many people can't just sit in front of a screen for hrs on end, it can cause headaches and eye irritation. Additionally, it's not healthy to sit for such long periods anyway. Every half hr or so get up, walk around, get a drink of water, then get back too it. It'll do wonders.

Every half anf hour or 45 mins focus on a different area across the room. The further the better. I find this relevies the strain or stress my eye sometimes feel.

Whenever I am typing an essay, between paragraphs, I'll get up at walk to get a drink of water, then come back. I also am constantly adjusting the brightness of my SP3 in class as it is really bright, which is nice in certain situations, but strains the eyes in another, since you are essentially staring at a lightbulb all day.