PHP - GetDirectories

Question

Hey Guys & Girls!

I'm fairly new to PHP, and I've been rollin' through the Codecademy courses, but it's not enough

I've been Googling around, looking for a good source of information, but I haven't found what I'm looking for. I guess you could say I'm wanting an "idiots guide to this issue".

I'm trying to show all the directories in x file i.e.

https://www.neowin.net/media

Any subfolder within that "media" folder would be listed in Alphabetical order. I feel bad for posting here with my level of knowledge. I just need a nudge in the right direction. I prefer to learn by doing, but this is a bit of a stretch for me. :(

Apologies if this isn't the right section!

Have you looked into using the PHP scandir function? http://php.net/manual/en/function.scandir.php

Kind of funny, you look like someone I know from School/Work.

As for the topic; I did look at scandir function, but frankly, I think the problem is the lack of knowledge for implementation. The good ol' copy n paste doesn't work for this sort've thing, and I'm having troubles with it.

You need to make sure you have correct permissions to read the folder. /tmp should be fine as it is 777 (usually), if that works chown the folder you want to list to the apache user (usually www-data) or just temporary chmod it to 777

As neoraptor said, you'll want to make sure you have the correct permissions. I do not have a job just yet and I haven't taken any classes at the local college for some time, I've been taking online classes for the last two years. Central Washington.

Have you checked out any tutorials on the topic?

You need to make sure you have correct permissions to read the folder. /tmp should be fine as it is 777 (usually), if that works chown the folder you want to list to the apache user (usually www-data) or just temporary chmod it to 777

Changed all my permissions for those folders to 777. I'll double check them. Does /tmp work as a universal?