Would getting a new lens help a D3100 in low light conditions?

I am a total beginner.

I've noticed the Nikon D3100 with bundled 18-55mm lens struggles in low light (blurry) photos when I use it.

I will not be using a tripod.

Would a new lens solve this issue?

Tripod would help but depends on how steady your hands are if you want to hold your camera instead of tripod.

You will need to adjust the settings for night shooting. such as increase ISO more higher such as around 800 depends on how dark or light it is.

Info: http://photo.stackexchange.com/questions/24197/nikon-d3100s-performance-in-low-light

http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/how-to-take-photos-in-low-light/

elliot,

Shooting at what focal length?  

In any case, Id go with cheap primes, however, do read below:

With a new lens, however, Notice  FOCUS will improve slightly  as focusing has to do more with the camera auto focusing system than the lens.

As is the case with almost every dSLR out the, the center focus spot is always the fastest and "smartest" focus spot. So you are best of manually selecting Focus spot, than using full on matrix/3d autofocusing on the 3100 (Notice: Manual selecting one of the 11 autofocus points, means just that, you will select the focus point, but the camera will still autofocus for you.)

Another quick tip is use spot metering, this way, the camera won't go crazy focusing all over the sense and will only spot(center).

If you show me your photo I can better explain what is going wrong:

Case example: 

Had I shot this in matrix 3d metering, the camera goes nuts trying to focus (though to be fair, it did get quite a few decent shots) but at this low light level and autofocusing, your best bet is manually selecting focus point:

http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-NIKKOR-Fixed-Focus-Cameras/dp/B001S2PPT0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1447002300&sr=8-1&keywords=35+mm+nikon